VASC: Van Gisbergen’s Weekend Continues With Pole in Qualifying

Jack Cobourn Supercars, Uncategorized 0 Comments

Shane van Gisbergen sits on provisional pole after setting a time of 1:19.295 for Sunday’s Clipsal 500 Adelaide qualifying. (Daniel Kalisz/Getty Images AsiaPac photo).

Adelaide, South Australia — Shane Van Gisbergen’s magic Clipsal 500 Adelaide weekend continues, as the reigning series champion will go last in the Armor All Top Ten Shootout after setting the provisional pole in Sunday’s qualifying with a 1:19.295. Red Bull Holden Racing Team teammate Jamie Whincup qualified second.

Whincup said he was pleased with the performance, but still was trying to find more speed.

“Good improvement from yesterday, but still not quick enough, we still need to find some more pace,” Whincup said. “We’re a half-tenth of a second off our teammate in the same car.”

The entire field streamed out for the 20-minute session to warm up the tires. Jamie Whincup held the early pole with a 1:20.592, followed by Craig Lowndes with a 1:20.643 in the Team Vortex Holden.

Everybody was trying hard, none more so than Cameron Waters in the Monster Energy Racing Ford. Waters tagged the outside wall at the fearsome Turn Eight, damaging the left-hand front wheel.

Will Davison moved into pole with a 1:20.183, after a rough morning spent rebuilding his Holden after the first-lap incident Saturday. Davison was followed by Michael Caruso with a 1:20.515. Davison would wind up calling his session early after problems with the front roll bar.

Whincup grabbed the pole back with a 1:19.609, but Tim Slade in the Freightliner Holden had a surprising run to second. Scott McLaughlin looked to put Saturday’s poor result behind him by qualifying a provisional third.

Saturday’s race winner Shane van Gisbergen jumped to second behind Whincup, but both Red Bull Holdens were usurped by Chaz Mostert, who set a 1:19.544 for the provisional pole with eight minutes left.

McLaughlin drove a clean and fast lap to grab pole with a 1:19.497 with just over four minutes left in the session. Mostert had ended his session early in order to save his car for the Armor All Top Ten Shootout. Rick Kelly bumped Fabian Coulthard out of the 10th position in the final 90 seconds, but it was moot with Coulthard’s next lap.

Coulthard set a 1:19.478 with 35 seconds left, and looked good for pole, but Van Gisbergen went one better to claim the pole right at the death.

Top Ten Qualifying Results
1. Shane Van Gisbergen
2. Jamie Whincup
3. Fabian Coulthard
4. Scott McLaughlin
5. Chaz Mostert
6. James Courtney
7. Nick Percat
8. Tim Slade
9. Cameron Waters
10. Garth Tander

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.