SOUTHEAST: Kason Plott Wins Greenville-Pickens Late Model Main; Dylan Hall Youngest Track Champ In History

Tom Baker Carolinas Racing, MidSouth, NASCAR, Other Late Models, Racing Nation, Southeast, Stock Cars, Uncategorized 0 Comments

EASLEY, S.C. – It was a night for young talent to shine at Greenville-Pickens Speedway, as Kason Plott showed up for the first time this season and won the 50-lap late

Kason Plott in Greenville Victory Lane - GPS Photo

Kason Plott in Greenville Victory Lane – GPS Photo

model feature, while 17-year-old Dylan Hall finished second and became the youngest late model track champion in track history.

Other winners on the evening were Luke Sorrow, Blake Gregory, Chris Meinders, Tim Sams and Chad Redding.

The 50-lap late model feature was first on the agenda.  Plott and Hall comprised the front row but behind them were some of the most accomplished racers in Speedway history.  Plott jumped off the pole position into the early lead with Hall following closely.  That’s exactly how it stayed.

Trey Gibson got to third early, but the prime mover was 2014 NASCAR Whelen All-American Series National Champ Anthony Anders, who methodically charged through the field from sixth to race with Gibson for third as the lap counter showed 37.  Two laps later, Anders was on by and the top three closed up on a pair of slower cars who were racing side by side.

Plott was able to snake through without being seriously challenged for the lead, and went onto the victory with Hall, Anders, Gibson and last week’s winner Randy Porter rounding out the top five.  Hall was officially crowned the 2016 track champion and provided a nice little smoke-show burnout in front of an appreciative crowd.

Ricky Burnett took the early lead in the 20-lap Renegade feature as he outmuscled pole sitter Lance George.  Two early yellows slowed the pace in the first six laps, including a blown motor on the Bryan Davis No. 15.  Blake Gregory showed third at this point with Eddie Ray and Spencer Darnell following in fourth and fifth.

Burnett led until lap 14 when Gregory finally got his No. 64 underneath and completed the pass.  George followed closely and took over second just before Ray blew his motor with three circuits remaining.

The race came right down to the wire, with Gregory getting the win and Burnett just squeaking second place ahead of George, division champion Bobby Emory and Alexx Breazele.  Spencer Darnell, running in the top six for much of the event, dropped out under one of the late-race yellows.

Luke Sorrow led the first 25 green flag laps in the 50-lap limited late model feature before being interrupted by a huge cloud of smoke from Tasha Kummer’s No. 32. Kummer stopped in turn two as the first yellow flag of the race was waved.

It was the only yellow.  Sorrow simply drove away from Root and on to glory as the first ever limited late model track champion of the Historic Half-Mile.  Root, Taylor Sorrow, Lexi Gay and Tasha Kummer finished second through fifth.

A.J. Davis got turned around on lap one of the 12-lap Pure Stock feature, bringing out the only yellow flag of the event.  Buck Simmons led briefly before eventual winner Chris Meinders came on and took control, leading the rest of the way for his second win in a row.  Spenser Morgan finished second, track champion Simmons third,  Zack Meinders fourth and Ashley Granata crossed the line in fifth.

The 20-lap Super Stock feature saw track champ Tim Sams take the early lead and survive a wild affair that saw numerous yellow flags and left Tim’s son Josh with some damage from a dustup with Travis Cox late in the event.  Both Cox and Josh Sams would pit for repairs before the race ended, but Cox would come back for a fourth place finish.  Tim Sams got the win, followed by Tyler Stephens, Stanley Pressley, Cox and Austin Somero.

Chad Redding was 12 points behind Tommy Davis for the championship in the Four-Cylinder division going into the 15-lap feature.  Redding needed to win and have Davis finish eighth or worse.  Redding won the battle, taking the checkered flag over Hunter Evans, Michael Webster, Dannon Esco and Ray Mullinax.

But Davis won the war, finishing sixth to ice the track championship in a division that has put on outstanding shows all season long.

Next Saturday, September 24th, Greenville-Pickens Speedway partners with Entercom to host the Inaugural Carolina Motorfest at the speedway – a car and bike show (with trophies), sale and swap meet.  as live music, food, beverages for all ages and a day of fun and excitement.  The event runs from 10am-6pm.

Visit for more info on this unique and exciting event.

The last race of the season at Greenville-Pickens will be Saturday, October 22nd.  The Fall Finale will be highlighted by the return of the Bandit Big Rigs, the Mulligan Power Truck Series and the Southeast Limited Late Model Series along with Renegades and Four-Cylinders.

For more information, visit the speedway website at or find them on Facebook by searching Greenville-Pickens Speedway.


LATE MODELS:  Kason Plott, Dylan Hall (track champ), Anthony Anders, Trey Gibson, Randy Porter, Jeremy Burns, Marty Ward, Ryan Walker, Lance Gatlin, Justin Hobgood and Will Burns.

RENEGADES: Blake Gregory, Ricky Burnett, Lance George, Bobby Emory (track champ), Alexx Breazele, Anthony Cordell, Steve Guthrie, Shane Hill, Tyler Woodring, Chris Whitfield, Larry Nabors, Parker Jameson, Wayne Waters, Marvin Hooper, Daniel Jameson, Eddie Ray, Spencer Darnell, Bryan Davis, Kyle Thornall, Scotty Tyner and Robert Odom.

LIMITED LATE MODELS: Luke Sorrow (track champ), Bob Root, Taylor Sorrow, Lexi Gay, Tasha Kummer, R.J. West, Matt Lockee.

PURE STOCKS: Chris Meinders, Spenser Morgan, Buck Simmons (track champ), Zack Meinders, Ashley Granata, A.J. Davis and Furman Craft.

SUPER STOCKS:  Tim Sams, Tyler Stephens, Stanley Pressley, Travis Cox, Austin Somero, T.J. Johnson, Josh Sams, Dale Stancil, Andy Norris, Danny Gilbert, CM Knight.

FOUR-CYLINDERS:  Chad Redding, Hunter Evans, Michael Webster, Dannon Esco, Ray Mullinax, Tommy Davis, Jr., Manual Molleda, Don Tavernia, Casey Burkett, James Johnson, Randy Hupp, Danny Esco, Joshua Thomason, Chris Burkett, Carey Smith, Charlie Meinders, Justin Brown, Neil Meeks, Jordan Robinson, Travis Barbare, Bobby Wortham, Sandra Tavernia and Gary Bryant.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.