NSL: Madsen Scores AGCO Jackson Nationals Victory

RaceChaser Staff 0 Comments


Kerry Madsen with his crew in victory lane after winning the 38th ASGO Jackson Nationals (Photo Credit: Shannon Dyce Photography)

JACKSON, Minn. – Kerry Madsen charged to a huge payday on Sunday evening at Jackson Motorplex during the finale of the 38th annual AGCO Jackson Nationals.

Madsen captured the $25,000 top prize for claiming the National Sprint League main event, which featured the Spirit Lake Silver & Gold NSL 410 Sprint Cars.

Madsen, who was driving the Matt Wood Racing No. 17w that was previously piloted by Bryan Clauson, who tragically passed away less than a month ago, capped the three-day event by leading the final six laps en route to his NSL leading fourth feature victory of the season.

“I wish I had words,” Madsen said in the Winner’s Circle. “I don’t. That car was on another level. It was driving itself somehow.”

Brian Brown powered into the lead on the opening lap of the 25-lap main event and he led the next eight circuits before Ian Madsen took command on Lap 9 with a slide job in turn four. Madsen entered traffic on the ensuing lap and he built nearly a two-second advantage by the time his brother, Kerry, passed Brown for the runner-up position on Lap 16.

Kerry Madsen reeled Ian Madsen in before a daring slide job that nearly resulted in contact between the two in turns three and four gave him the lead on Lap 20.

“Early I figured with the way the track was I didn’t have a shot to win,” Kerry Madsen said. “I just wanted to do my best. The harder I drove the car the faster it went. It was unbelievable. Then you go, ‘Okay, we’re on for the victory.’ I pushed and was aggressive, but sometimes that’s what you gotta do. It’s sprint car racing. If you be too patient with someone, someone else is going to put the move on you. When you have the momentum you have to go.”

A caution came out a lap later to give the new leader clean track in front of him. Two more cautions in the final five laps provided Ian Madsen an opportunity to reclaim the lead with a pass, but Kerry Madsen had enough in the tank to maintain the top spot.

Ian Madsen finished second, which secured the Jackson Motorplex Spirit Lake Silver & Gold NSL 410 Sprint Cars championship, with Brown rounding out the podium.

Sammy Swindell ended fourth with Craig Dollansky placing fifth.

Lap sponsors for the National Sprint League main event included: DKW Transport, RK Design Group LLC, Maxim Racing, Great Lakes Concrete, Martin County Ready Mix and Signs By Cooper.

Event contingency winners included: Kerry Madsen garnered a full filtration system from Walker Performance Filtration for winning the A Main and $500 courtesy of Arnold Motor Supply for being the hard charger. Kaley Gharst, the 13th-place finisher, was given a front bumper and Jacobs Ladder courtesy of Hysteria Chassis. The pole shuffle drivers split $1,200 courtesy of Impact Signs/NextLED. J.R. Huntley donated $50 to the third-place finisher, which was Brown.

The night began with Wayne Johnson and Tasker Phillips each winning a heat race with Swindell picking up the pole shuffle victory.

RESULTS: National Sprint League; AGCO Jackson Nationals; Jackson Motorplex; Sept 3, 2016

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 17W-Kerry Madsen (8); 2. 18-Ian Madsen (3); 3. 21-Brian Brown (2); 4. 1-Sammy Swindell (1); 5. 2KS-Craig Dollansky (9); 6. 3-Tim Kaeding (5); 7. 56N-Davey Heskin (7); 8. 2-Danny Lasoski (4); 9. 2C-Wayne Johnson (10); 10. 55-Brooke Tatnell (17); 11. 09-Matt Juhl (12); 12. 7W-Tasker Phillips (11); 13. 7X-Kaley Gharst (13); 14. 55L-Aaron Reutzel (14); 15. 84-Scott Bogucki (18); 16. 16-Travis Whitney (16); 17. 17E-Ryan Bickett (21); 18. 4H-Cody Hansen (25); 19. 25-Dylan Peterson (22); 20. 21K-Thomas Kennedy (6); 21. 7D-Dustin Selvage (19); 22. 4X-Eric Schulz (26); 23. 14-Jody Rosenboom (24); 24. 4W-Matt Wasmund (23); 25. 19P-Paige Polyak (15); 26. 17-Josh Baughman (DNS).

Laps Led: Brian Brown 1-8; Ian Madsen 9-19; Kerry Madsen 20-25.

CREDIT: Inside Line Promotions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.