NSL: Lasoski Wins Knoxville Finale; Seals 11th Track Title & Extends NSL Points Lead

RaceChaser Staff 0 Comments

Danny Lasoski (center) wrapped up his 11th Knoxville Raceway track title with a National Sprint League victory on Saturday night. (Knoxville Raceway photo)

Danny Lasoski (center) wrapped up his 11th Knoxville Raceway track title with a National Sprint League victory on Saturday night. (Knoxville Raceway photo)

KNOXVILLE, Iowa — Danny Lasoski has built the largest lead of the National Sprint League season for a point leader thanks to his third triumph of the year on Saturday night at Knoxville Raceway.

Lasoski now owns a 128-point advantage over Craig Dollansky in the championship standings with only six points-paying events remaining this season.

The win came on the night Lasoski was honored for his record 11th track championship at Knoxville Raceway, where he had already wrapped up the title prior to the National Sprint League event.

However, it was Lasoski’s nephew, Brian Brown, who almost stole the show with a late-race pass.

“I didn’t see him, but I heard someone there,” Lasoski said. “After that I picked the pace up a little more. I was trying to save my tires, try not to slip. As soon as I heard someone we aired it out.”

The 25-lap feature began with Brooke Tatnell driving around Dollansky, who started on the pole, in turn four on the opening lap to take the lead. Dollansky passed for the top spot on lap two and Lasoski advanced into the runner-up position on lap four.

Traffic entered the picture on lap eight and two laps later Lasoski pulled even with Dollansky on the backstretch. Dollansky dove to the bottom entering turn three and Lasoski backed out of the gas, which cost him much needed momentum on the fast track.

Lasoski reeled Dollansky back in and used a slide job in turns three and four on Lap 14 to take the lead. Two cautions in the final 10 laps bunched the field together with Dollansky staying within striking distance of the lead until it was Brown’s turn on lap 20.

Brown pulled even with Lasoski in turns three and four on Lap 21, but Lasoski had the preferred line on the bottom and pulled away to win by a little more than one second.

Brown finished second with Dollansky third and Davey Heskin fourth. Kerry Madsen, who made his debut driving for Matt Wood Racing, used a late rally to charge from 12th to a fifth-place result. He was also the Hard Charger Award winner for passing the most cars.

360 champion Clint Garner and 305 titlist Christian Bowman emerged victorious not only in the season point standings, but on the race track during the final race of the season.

Lasoski opened the night by setting quick time during qualifying before Dollansky, Matt Moro and A.J. Moeller each won heat races.

The National Sprint League returns to action next Saturday and Sunday at Jackson Motorplex in Jackson, Minn., for the AGCO Jackson Nationals.


RESULTS: National Sprint League; Knoxville Raceway; Aug.27,2016

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 2-Danny Lasoski (3); 2. 21-Brian Brown (4); 3. 2ks-Craig Dollansky (1); 4. 56n-Davey Heskin (5); 5. 17w-Kerry Madsen (12); 6. 49-Josh Schneiderman (11); 7. 55-Brooke Tatnell (2); 8. 18-Ian Madsen (7); 9. 7d-Dustin Selvage (13); 10. 84-Scott Bogucki (14); 11. 10-Dakota Hendrickson (10); 12. 71a-R.J. Johnson (15); 13. 10v-Rager Phillips (8); 14. 59-Ben Schmidt (18); 15. 19-Bob Weuve (19); 16. 20-A.J. Moeller (9); 17. 2m-Matt Moro (6); 18. 75-Glen Saville (17); 19. 35-Kevin Hetrick (20); 20. 96-Bronson Maeschen (21); 21. 7w-Tasker Phillips (16).

Laps Led: Brooke Tatnell 1; Craig Dollansky 2-13; Danny Lasoski 14-25.


CREDIT: Inside Line Promotions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.