NORTHEAST: Perley, McKnight Win Oswego Semi Finals; Lead Supermodified Transfers

Jacob Seelman 0 Comments

Chris Perley, seen here with his ISMA winged supermodified, was one of two Semi Final winners on Budweiser Classic Sunday at Oswego Speedway. (Crystal Snape photo)

Chris Perley, seen here with his ISMA winged supermodified, was one of two Semi Final winners on Budweiser Classic Sunday at Oswego Speedway. (Crystal Snape photo)

OSWEGO, N.Y. – Chris Perley and Dave McKnight led the final group of transfers into Sunday afternoon’s Budweiser International Classic for Novelis Supermodifieds at Oswego Speedway, winning their respective 15-lap Semi Final events at the .625-mile oval.

Perley wired the first Semi Final, which saw two spins on the opening lap by Jerry Curran and Hal LaTulip, respectively.

Dan Connors finished second ahead of Tim Snyder, Brian Sobus, Shawn Muldoon and Curran, who rallied to claim the final transfer spot in the “Nuclear Banana” entry.

In the second Semi Final, Dave McKnight continued his momentum from a top-five run in Saturday’s ISMA SuperNationals, passing polesitter Bobby Santos III early on and rolling to victory in a caution free dash.

Santos was second in front of Ryan Litt, Joey Payne, Todd Stowell and Bobby Magner.

Sobus was the only car to tak a lap in the earlier second-round time trial session, posting a lap of 17.074 seconds to slot in 31st overall and sixth in his Semi Final lineup.

The 60th annual Budweiser International Classic will take the green flag immediately following the 25th annual Bud Light SBS Classic.


RESULTS: Oswego Speedway; Budweiser Classic Weekend; Sept. 4, 2016

Novelis Supermodified Second Round Time Trials (best of two laps; bold indicates re-timed):  21. #01 – Dan Connors, 16.602; 22. #21 – Bobby Santos III, 16.643; 23. #44 – Chris Perley, 16.677; 24. #70 – Dave McKnight, 16.775; 25. #24 – Jerry Curran, 16.781; 26. #88 – Ryan Litt, 16.810; 27. #0 – Tim Snyder, 16.830; 28. #99 – Joey Payne, 16.851; 29. #1 – Shawn Muldoon, 17.015; 30. #35 – Bobby Magner, 17.067; 31. #79 – Brian Sobus, 17.074; 32. #89 – Todd Stowell, 17.104; 33. #96 – Lou LeVea Sr., 17.499; 34. #83 – Lou LeVea Jr., 17.709; 35. #56 – Hal Latulip, 17.837.

Semi Final One (15 laps, top six transfer):  1. Chris Perley, 2. Dan Connors, 3. Tim Snyder, 4. Brian Sobus, 5. Shawn Muldoon, 6. Jerry Curran / 7. Lou LeVea Sr., 8. Hal LaTulip.

Semi Final Two (15 laps, top six transfer):  1. Dave McKnight, 2. Bobby Santos, 3. Ryan Litt, 4. Joey Payne, 5. Todd Stowell, 6. Bobby Magner / 7. Lou LeVea Jr.


About the Writer

jacobseelmanJacob Seelman is the Managing Editor of Race Chaser Online and creator of the Motorsports Madness radio show, airing at 7 p.m. Eastern every Monday on the Performance Motorsports Network.

Seelman grew up in the sport, watching his grandparents co-own the RaDiUs Motorsports NASCAR Cup Series team in the 1990s.

The 22-year-old is currently studying Broadcast Journalism at Winthrop University in Rock Hill, S.C., and is also serving as the full-time tour announcer for the Must See Racing Sprint Car Series.

Email Jacob at:

Follow on Twitter: @Speed77Radio or @JacobSeelman77

Email Race Chaser Online:

Follow RCO on Twitter: @RaceChaserNews

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.