NORTHEAST: Aaron Ott Wires Field To Win From The Pole At Williams Grove

RaceChaser Staff 0 Comments

Aaron Ott celebrates in victory lane after winning Friday night’s sprint car feature at Pennsylvania’s Williams Grove Speedway. (WGS photo)

Aaron Ott celebrates in victory lane after winning Friday night’s sprint car feature at Pennsylvania’s Williams Grove Speedway. (WGS photo)

MECHANICSBURG, Pa. — Aaron Ott wired the field from the pole for the 410 sprint car feature win at Williams Grove Speedway on Friday night, holding off Danny Dietrich for the victory in a fast-paced 25-lap main event.

In the 358 sprint main it was Matt Campbell claiming his first feature win of the season and third overall of his career at the oval.

The 410 sprint main took four tries at a start before the first lap could be recorded but once it was the following 24 clicked off non-stop.

One of the initial start stoppages was for a turn over by Doug Esh who had connected with Lucas Wolfe.

Brent Marks started second in the race but got passed by Cory Haas when the first lap was completed while Marks maintained the third spot.

Leader Ott hit lapped traffic on the 12th tour with Brock Zearfoss and Danny Dietrich in the top five.

A hectic pace on a quickening cushion really shook up the front runners during the final 10 laps as the race waged through heavy traffic.

Eleventh-starter Brian Montieth had worked his way up to sixth with 10 laps to go and went for a big slide job on Danny Dietrich and Brock Zearfoss that backfired with him loosing spots instead while Dietrich capitalized on the skirmish to bolt into third from fifth.

With Montieth left to regroup, Dietrich set his sights on the rest of the frontrunners and overtook Haas for second with six laps to go.

With four to go Dietrich was clearly poised to take a stab at the win and the pair crossed the stripe on lap 22 nose to tail.

At first upon entering the first corner, Dietrich faked to the outside then quickly swerved left and under Aott for the lead, which he grabbed momentarily until his car caught the cushion and bicycled, allowing Ott to zoom back by just underneath.

The bicycle by Dietrich gave Ott enough breathing room afterward to run to the win, although only taking the checkers by .554 seconds.

Marks was third with a recovering Montieth fourth and Haas in fifth.


RESULTS: Williams Grove Speedway; Aug. 26, 2016

410 sprints (25 laps): 1. Aaron Ott, 2. Danny Dietrich, 3. Brent Marks, 4. Brian Montieth, 5. Cory Haas, 6. Greg Hodnett, 7. Brock Zearfoss, 8. Freddie Rahmer, 9. Alan Krimes, 10. Steve Buckwalter, 11. Austin Hogue, 12. Chad Trout, 13. Rodney Westhafer, 14. Tim Wagaman, 15. Nicole Bower, 16. Troy Fraker, 17. Rick Lafferty, 18. Daryl Stimeling, 19. Ryan Smith, 20. George Streaker Jr., 21. Jay Galloway, 22. Doug Esh, 23. Lucas Wolfe, 24. Chase Dietz.

358 Sprints (20 laps): 1. Matt Campbell, 2. Kevin Nouse, 3. Cody Keller, 4. Doug Hammaker, 5. Adrian Shaffer, 6. Chandler Leiby, 7. Kyle Denmyer, 8. Chad Trout, 9. Brie Hershey, 10. Brett Shearer, 11. Chris Arnold, 12. Nyle Berkes, 13. Chris Frank, 14. Glenndon Forsythe, 15. Matt Findley, 16. Phil Walter, 17. Rich Eichelberger, 18. Jared Esh, 19. Aaron Eichelberger, 20. Steve Drevicki, 21. Jordan Givler, 22. Tyler Esh, 23. Eric Parker, 24. Troy Wagaman Jr.

CREDIT: Williams Grove Speedway

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.