MSR: Brian Gerster Leads Salem Practice Ahead of 56th Annual Joe James/Pat O’Connor Memorial

Jacob Seelman Midwest, Other Sprint Cars, Sprints & Midgets, Uncategorized 0 Comments

SALEM, Ind. – Report by Race Chaser Online Managing Editor Jacob Seelman – Chris Seelman photo –

Two-time and reigning Must See Racing Sprint Car Series champion Brian Gerster showed Saturday afternoon that he has not forgotten how to get around the high banks of the Salem Speedway.

Gerster swept both practice sessions held in advance of Saturday night’s 56th annual Joe James/Pat O’Connor Memorial 30 at the historic 0.555-mile oval, clocking his quickest lap of 14.361 seconds (139.127 mph) in the second and final round at the controls of his No. 50M Dick Myers Racing/RAM Engineering Dodge-powered sprint car.

New Must See Racing points leader Jimmy McCune trailed Gerster in both rounds of practice, with his best lap of 15.703 seconds (127.237 mph) also coming in the final session. McCune is looking for his second-straight series win in his No. 88 B&B Machinery/Abe’s Auto Parts mount.

Former NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour champion Bobby Santos III, coming south from Franklin, Mass., rounded out the overall podium on the speed charts with a best lap of 15.738 seconds (126.954 mph).

Chris Neuenschwander (16.136/123.823) and Brian Vaughn (16.612/120.275) completed the top five on the overall speed charts.

Gerster’s lap of 14.859 seconds (134.464 mph) paced the opening round of practice.

Anthony McCune was the only car that did not make a lap in practice, after problems with the left rear brake caliper sidelined his No. 44 in the afternoon hours.

Must See Racing Sprint Car Series teams will return to the track for Engine Pro Time Trials at 5:45 p.m.


RESULTS: Must See Racing Sprint Car Series; Overall Practice Times; Salem Speedway; August 8, 2015

  1. #50M – Brian Gerster, 14.361 seconds, 139.127 mph
  2. #88 – Jimmy McCune, 15.703 seconds, 127.327 mph
  3. #22A – Bobby Santos III, 15.738 seconds, 126.954 mph
  4. #10 – Chris Neuenschwander, 16.136 seconds, 123.823 mph
  5. #71 – Brian Vaughn, 16.612 seconds, 120.275 mph
  6. #12 – John Turnbull Jr., 16.731 seconds, 119.419 mph
  7. #21 – Mike Stutsman, 16.746 seconds, 119.312 mph
  8. #0 – Christian Koehler, 16.761 seconds, 119.205 mph
  9. #6 – Kevin Blue, 16.882 seconds, 118.351 mph
  10. #10 – Ron Koehler, 18.396 seconds, 108.611 mph
  11. #44 – Anthony McCune, No Time, No Speed


About the Writer

Jacob Seelman is the Managing Editor of Race Chaser Online and creator of the Motorsports Madness radio show, airing at 7 p.m. Eastern every Monday on the Performance Motorsports Network. Seelman grew up in the sport, watching his grandparents co-own the RaDiUs Motorsports NASCAR Cup Series team in the 1990s. He is currently studying Broadcast Journalism at Winthrop University in Rock Hill, S.C., and is also serving as the full-time tour announcer for both the United Sprint Car Series and the Must See Racing Sprint Car Series.

Email Jacob at:

Follow on Twitter: @Speed77Radio or @JacobSeelman77

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.