LOLMDS: Davenport Goes Back-to-Back In The Buckeye State; Wins at Portsmouth

RaceChaser Staff 0 Comments

From L to R: Tim McCreadie, Portsmouth winner Jonathan Davenport and Earl Pearson Jr. (LOLMDS photo)

From L to R: Tim McCreadie, Portsmouth winner Jonathan Davenport and Earl Pearson Jr. (LOLMDS photo)

PORTSMOUTH, Ohio — Jonathan Davenport won his second consecutive Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series feature Saturday night at Portsmouth Raceway Park.

Davenport started on the pole, but never led a lap until lap 42 when he took over the lead from Tim McCreadie. A huge crowd was on hand to watch four different leaders battle it out in the 60-lap race.

For the second night in a row, Dennis Erb Jr. took runner-up honors. McCreadie finished third. He was followed by Earl Pearson Jr. and Rod Conley.

Jackie Boggs darted from his fourth starting spot and electrified the home-track crowd by taking the lead on the first lap. Boggs then started to pull away from the field and expanded his lead to over a straightaway before misfortune struck Boggs, his night ending on lap 12, as the front nosepiece of his car folded under after he and a lap-car made contact.

With Boggs out of the race, Erb took over the point. A terrific battle ensued between Erb, McCreadie, and Davenport. A tight race for the lead would cover several laps. Erb held the lead until McCreadie went to the front on lap 30. Davenport began to track down McCreadie, and finally got by him for the top spot with 19 laps remaining.

“If all of you didn’t like that then you need to go have your head checked,” Davenport said. “They made me work for this one! I don’t know why these tires didn’t fire-off. It kind of got me worried. I didn’t have any traction. I didn’t want to run the top early on like I had to because I didn’t want to blister my tires.”

Erb also picked up some valuable championship points as well.

“We had another good car tonight,” he said. “This is probably the closest up front that we have started here. In the past, it seems like I was always getting the hard charger of the race. I thought we were finally going to get a win here; maybe in October.”

McCreadie was also looking for his first LOLMDS win of the season.

“That was a great race for the fans; it was a fun race to drive,” McCreadie said. “Our car was good up against the cushion for a while. After breaking last night it feels good to get a podium finish.”

Davenport set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group A) among the 35 entrants, with a lap of 14.733 seconds.


RESULTS: Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series; Portsmouth Raceway Park; Sept. 3, 2016

A-Main: 1. Jonathan Davenport, 2. Dennis Erb Jr., 3. Tim McCreadie, 4. Earl Pearson Jr., 5. Rod Conley, 6. Steve Francis, 7. Devin Moran, 8. Jimmy Owens, 9. R.J. Conley, 10. Don O’Neal, 11. Mark Frazier, 12. Darrell Lanigan, 13. Scott Bloomquist, 14. Ben Adkins, 15. Devin Gilpin, 16. Shannon Thornsberry, 17. Brandon Sheppard, 18. Audie Swartz, 19. Jackie Boggs, 20. Nick Bocook, 21. Delmas Conley, 22. Kyle Hardy, 23. Colton Flinner, 24. Kenny Christy.

CREDIT: Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.