LOLMDS: Bloomquist Goes Wire-To-Wire; Wins John Bradshaw Memorial At Ponderosa

RaceChaser Staff 0 Comments

Scott Bloomquist celebrates in victory lane at Ponderosa Speedway Friday night. (LOLMDS photo)

Scott Bloomquist celebrates in victory lane at Ponderosa Speedway Friday night. (LOLMDS photo)

JUNCTION CITY, Ky. — Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series point leader Scott Bloomquist extended his lead in the standings by winning the 13th annual John Bradshaw Memorial at Ponderosa Speedway on Friday night.

It was the first visit by the LOLMDS to the Central Kentucky bullring.

Bloomquist led all 50 laps in his Crop Production Services/Reece Monument Company/Mark Martin Automotive/Andy Durham-Engines-sponsored Sweet-Bloomquist Chassis.

Tim McCreadie’s Sweeteners Plus Longhorn finished second, followed by Dennis Erb Jr. in his Vomac Truck Sales Black Diamond Chassis.

Bloomquist dominated the competition all night long, first setting fast time in his group, and then easily winning his heat race. He bolted to the lead at the start of the main event and was never seriously challenged.

“The car was nearly perfect. I don’t know if I could find anything wrong with,” said the 52-year-old Hall of Famer who scored his 11th series win of the season. “That’s just about as good as you could ask for right there! They put new clay on this track and it really helped it. You could race all over it tonight. You could run the bottom, the middle, and the top. I really enjoyed racing here tonight.”

McCreadie wrestled second from Erb on lap 29. McCreadie then started to track down Bloomquist, but a couple of cautions in the last 10 laps allowed Bloomquist a clear race track to forge ahead.

“It’s always fun to run in front of a crowd like this tonight,” McCreadie said. “This is only our second time ever running here. I wish turn one would have been a little smoother; we could have probably maneuvered better through there. Overall we had a good night. I didn’t want to see any yellows at the end. We went with a harder tire than him [Bloomquist].”

Erb was making only his second appearance at the track as well, and was pleased with his podium finish.

“It was a good battle up front,” Erb said. “Scott had the best car all night, but it was a good race for second for a while. There were about three of us racing hard for the spot. My car got a little loose at the end, but to come home third is great. We needed to be tighter at the end, but overall it was good point night.”

Greg Johnson charged from ninth to finish fourth and Don O’Neal finished fifth.

Bloomquist set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group A) among the 28 entrants, with a lap of 13.509 seconds.


RESULTS: Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series; John Bradshaw Memorial; Ponderosa Speedway; Aug. 26, 2016

A-Main (50 laps): 1. Scott Bloomquist, 2. Tim McCreadie, 3. Dennis Erb Jr., 4. Greg Johnson, 5. Don O’Neal, 6. Mike Marlar, 7. Dustin Linville, 8. Chris Madden, 9. Gregg Satterlee, 10. Jason Jameson, 11. Jimmy Owens, 12. Cody Mahoney, 13. Brandon Sheppard, 14. Earl Pearson Jr., 15. Steve Francis, 16. Darrelll Lanigan, 17. Jonathan Davenport, 18. Jared Hawkins, 19. D.J. Wells, 20. Josh Rice, 21. Colton Flinner, 22. David Seibenrs, 23. Brian Smith, 24. Brandon Kinzer, 25. Michael Chilton.

CREDIT: Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.