Brandon Jones Nabs ARCA Pole At Chicagoland

RaceChaser Staff ARCA 0 Comments

Brandon Jones celebrates with the General Tire Pole Award Thursday at Chicagoland Speedway. (ARCA photo)

JOLIET, Ill. — Brandon Jones, one of several drivers opting for an ARCA jumpstart going into the race weekend at Chicagoland Speedway, scored the pole for the ARCA Racing Series SCOTT 150 on Thursday afternoon.

Jones, in the No. 8 Australian Gold Toyota for MDM Motorsports, won the General Tire Pole Award with a lap of 30.219 seconds, for an average speed of 178.696 mph around the worn out 1.5-mile oval.

“It’s good to be back in ARCA,” said Jones, a four-time ARCA race winner. “I enjoy being here and I enjoy running fast. We run these races to hopefully better our chances in the XFINITY Series. We’ll use tonight to try and find the sweet spot for Saturday.”

Jones also couldn’t help but notice how strong the field is for the SCOTT 150, which is the 17th visit by the ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards to Chicagoland.

“It’s a really good group of drivers … there’s probably 10 to 15 cars that look really solid for tonight,” he said. “My crew chief Shane Huffman hit on some things and the car really came to life.”

Ty Majeski, in the No. 99 Treeo’s Ford for Cunningham Motorsports, qualified second (30.250/178.512).

“The 99 is definitely going to be one to watch tonight, but he won’t be the only one,” Jones added. “We need to free ourselves up a bit and we should be good.

“General Tire brought a great tire this weekend. I was a little concerned with all the Goodyear rubber going down but no issues at all. Everything under those General Tires feels great.”

Noah Gragson and Codie Rohrbaugh share row two, with Michael Self completing the top five qualifiers.

Shane Lee, points leader Austin Theriault, Kyle Benjamin, Gus Dean and Myatt Snider fill out the first five rows of the grid.

Thursday marked Jones’ fourth-career General Tire Pole in ARCA competition. His four ARCA victories have come at Winchester Speedway, Lucas Oil Raceway and twice at Michigan Int’l Speedway in both 2016 and 2017.

CREDIT: ARCA Racing Series

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.