Brian Brown Thrills With Lakeside Outlaws Win

RaceChaser Staff Featured, World of Outlaws Sprint Cars 0 Comments

Brian Brown, shown here at Volusia Speedway Park, won Friday’s World of Outlaws feature at Lakeside Speedway. (CSP/Chris Seelman photo)

KANSAS CITY, Kan. — FVP driver Brian Brown became his sponsor’s dream at the end of Friday night’s FVP Platinum Battery Shootout at Lakeside Speedway, topping all comers to score his second World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series win of the season.

Brown led the first seven laps before Kerry Madsen took command on the eighth circuit, but Brown inherited the lead again         with 10 to go after Madsen got spun around in lapped traffic.

Sheldon Haudenschild and 12th-starting Donny Schatz completed the podium.

Brown survived multiple slide job attempts from both Jac and Sheldon Haudenschild to maintain the early lead as he reached traffic on lap six. By lap eight, Madsen had worked his way forward from his fifth starting position, surpassed both Haudenschilds and swooped underneath Brown for the lead.

Madsen clearly established himself as the car to beat once he took command. While Madsen stretched his lead, complete mayhem took place behind him with drivers utilizing all the real estate Lakeside Speedway had to offer. Sheldon Haudenschild and Brown continued their battle for the runner-up position, exchanging the spot multiple times.

Madsen was well on his way to scoring his fifth Outlaw win of the season before disaster struck on lap 20. Madsen got turned around in turn three and ended up with a flat right-rear tire. At the time of the accident, Madsen had seven lapped cars and over 8.5 seconds in between himself and the rest of the field.

The see-saw battle between Sheldon Haudenschild and Brown saw the latter assume the lead on lap 20. On the ensuing restart, Schatz and Sheldon Haudenschild waged war for the runner-up position, allowing Brown to extend his lead.

Brown wouldn’t relinquish the lead twice in one night, however, as he was masterful in lapped traffic the last few laps en route to the popular victory.

“My guys did a phenomenal job. These Outlaw races are so tough to win. You can feel the pressure in lapped traffic,” Brown said. “I’ve won with the Outlaws in Arizona and North Carolina so I’ve never really been able to celebrate. To do it here, with all the FVP guys in attendance – we’ll celebrate with a few beers tonight.”

Sheldon Haudenschild, who remains the leading contender for Kevin Gobrecht Rookie of the Year, settled for second once again as he continues to knock on the door of his first career win with the series.

Haudenschild cited the great racing between he and Brown afterwards, although most of it was when they were battling for second.

“We had some really good racing going on back there. I threw a couple of good sliders in the middle of the race but could never make it stick,” said Haudenschild. “The track was absolutely perfect.”

Schatz, Jason Johnson and Kerry Madsen, who had a remarkable comeback, completed the top five.

Madsen restarted 14th with 10 laps to go and showed the same speed he had while leading, sliding his way forward to fifth at the finish line.

After the race, Madsen was in good spirits.

“Obviously it’s a huge disappointment when you have a car that good, but that’s racing,” he said. “We’ll try again next time.”


RESULTS: World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series; Lakeside Speedway; Oct. 20, 2017

A-Feature (30 laps): 1. 21-Brian Brown [1][$10,000]; 2. 93-Sheldon Haudenschild [4][$5,500]; 3. 15-Donny Schatz [12][$3,200]; 4. 41-Jason Johnson [6][$2,800]; 5. 2M-Kerry Madsen [5][$2,500]; 6. 2-Shane Stewart [2][$2,300]; 7. 5-David Gravel [11][$2,200]; 8. 49-Brad Sweet [9][$2,100]; 9. 9-Daryn Pittman [7][$2,050]; 10. 1S-Logan Schuchart [21][$2,000]; 11. 18-Ian Madsen [17][$1,500]; 12. 19-Brent Marks [8][$1,200]; 13. 99-Brady Bacon [13][$1,100]; 14. 17-Jac Haudenschild [3][$1,050]; 15. 7S-Jason Sides [16][$1,000]; 16. 11K-Kraig Kinser [15][$900]; 17. 20N-Hunter Schuerenberg [22][$800]; 18. 82-Dusty Zomer [10][$800]; 19. 4-Parker Price-Miller [23][$800]; 20. W20-Greg Wilson [25][$]; 21. 55-Brooke Tatnell [18][$800]; 22. 3-Sammy Swindell [19][$800]; 23. 14-Tony Stewart [14][$800]; 24. 12-Lynton Jeffrey [20][$800]; 25. 1A-Jacob Allen [24][$800]; 26. 13-Clyde Knipp [26][$]

Lap Leaders: Brian Brown 1-7, 21-30; Kerry Madsen 8-20

KSE Hard Charger Award: 1S-Logan Schuchart (+11)

CREDIT: World of Outlaws

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.