Thorson Wires Lanco, Gives Kunz Milestone Victory

RaceChaser Staff Featured, USAC 0 Comments

Tanner Thorson celebrates in victory lane Tuesday night at Lanco’s Clyde Martin Memorial Speedway.

SPRING RUN, Pa. — Tanner Thorson led all the way during Tuesday night’s Pennsylvania Midget Week stop at Lanco’s Clyde Martin Memorial Speedway, scoring a milestone win for Keith Kunz/Curb-Agajanian Racing in the process.

Thorson weathered multiple incidents and red flag periods to stand in victory lane at the end of the night, cashing a $3,000 winner’s check and notching the 150th victory for Kunz since the team went under the Toyota Racing Development banner.

Tuesday was Thorson’s second USAC National Midget Series win of the season, and the defending series champion sits fourth in points with five races remaining.

Brady Bacon, Tyler Courtney, Spencer Bayston and Shane Golobic completed the top five.

Monday night winner Chad Boat came home sixth, while Sunday night winner Justin Grant flipped on the opening lap of the feature and finished last in the 22-car field.

Holly Shelton also flipped during the main event, going over on lap 21 and sparking another red flag. She was credited with 15th in the final rundown.

Shane Golobic was the night’s fast qualifier, posting a lap of 10.554 seconds for Clauson-Marshall Racing, while Grant, Timmy Buckwalter and Alex Bright each won heat races.

The night’s racing program was co-sanctioned by both the national tour and the USAC Eastern Regional Midgets presented by ARDC.

Pennsylvania Midget Week concludes Wednesday night at Linda’s Speedway in Jonestown, Pa.


RESULTS: USAC National Midget Series; Lanco’s Clyde Martin Memorial Speedway; Aug. 15, 2017

A-Feature (40 laps): 1. Tanner Thorson, 2. Brady Bacon, 3. Tyler Courtney, 4. Spencer Bayston, 5. Shane Golobic, 6. Chad Boat, 7. Tim Buckwalter, 8. Tanner Carrick, 9. Tony DiMattia, 10. Landon Simon, 11. Kenny Miller, III, 12. Ryan Greth, 13. Andrew Layser, 14. Eric Heydenreich, 15. Holly Shelton, 16. Adam Pierson, 17. Brayton Lynch, 18. Alex Bright, 19. Tommy Kunsman, Jr., 20. Shawn Jackson, 21. Kenney Johnson, 22. Justin Grant.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.