Darland Banks $2,000 With POWRi WAR Sprints

RaceChaser Staff Featured, POWRi 0 Comments

Dave Darland celebrates in victory lane Friday night at Lincoln Speedway. (Brendon Bauman photo)

LINCOLN, Ill. — Dave Darland made his POWRi Lucas Oil WAR East Sprint debut Friday night at Lincoln Speedway in dominant fashion, picking up his first league victory after starting sixth.

Zach Daum, Bret Tripplett, Korey Weyant, and Terry Babb rounded out the top five.

Katlynn Leer and Brandon Mattox led the field to green flag racing, and Mattox would lead lap one. The red flag would fly quickly though for A.J. Bruns, who got upside down in turns three and four.

After the restart, Daum moved into the lead working the bottom groove, with Weyant close behind on the top groove. The yellow flag would come out for Mattox, who was stopped in turn three, and he would not be able to restart.

Dave Darland at speed Friday night at Lincoln Speedway. (Brendon Bauman photo)

Just after the field took the green flag with 15 laps remaining, Buddy Lowther would end up upside down in turns three and four. He was ok, but his night was over. Tommy Rockwell headed to the work area with a flat left front tire. His crew and a few helpers from multiple race teams helped get his tire changed and he would tag the tail of the field.

After the restart, Daum assumed his lead continuing to roll the bottom. Darland, who started sixth and now ran third, waited for the opportunity to pass Weyant, who was also running the high side in second.

Darland threw a slide job on Weyant in turns three and four to take over the second position. He then set his sights on Daum, who had a comfortable lead at that point. Darland reeled in the No. 5d machine and made the pass for the lead with five to go.

Darland went on to pick up his first POWRi Lucas Oil WAR East Sprint Car win of his career.


RESULTS: POWRi Lucas Oil WAR East Sprint Cars; Lincoln Speedway; Aug. 18, 2017

A-Feature (25 laps): 1. 85-Dave Darland (6); 2. 5D-Zach Daum (7); 3. 22-Bret Tripplett (11); 4. 99-Korey Weyant (4); 5. 8D-Terry Babb (9); 6. 6B-Andy Baugh (15); 7. 6-Mario Clouser (5); 8. 77K-Katlynn Leer (1); 9. 56-Mitchell Davis (8); 10. 11-James Lyerla (14); 11. 20-Steve Thomas (13); 12. 95-Tommy Rockwell (19); 13. 52-Isaac Chapple (12); 14. 27-Tucker Klaasmeyer (10); 15. 24-Landon Simon (3); 16. 70-Pete Palazzolo (18); 17. 31L-Buddy Lowther (20); 18. 28-Brandon Mattox (2); 19. 1-Mitch Wissmiller (17); 20. 44-AJ Bruns (16).

CREDIT: POWRi Communications

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.