Larson Bests Price-Miller In Ohsweken 360s

RaceChaser Staff Featured, Other Sprint Cars 0 Comments

Kyle Larson celebrates in victory lane at Ohsweken Speedway Monday night.

OHSWEKEN, Ontario — NASCAR driver Kyle Larson scored a win north of the border on Monday night, winning the Kool Kidz-Corr/Pak 360 sprint car portion of the Burger Barn Northern Summer Nationals, which saw 117 cars sign in to Ohsweken Speedway across four divisions.

Larson claimed the checkered flag after a spectacular duel with Parker Price-Miller.

Larson started on the front row with Mitch Brown with Brown leading the opening lap. Third-starting Price-Miller quickly made it a three-car battle for the lead while Larson retook the point on lap two.

Price-Miller drove low into turn one and slid up in front of Larson in turn two to take the lead only to have Larson turn back underneath and lead on corner exit. Price-Miller didn’t make the same mistake twice as he executed a slide job in turn four to take the lap three lead.

“I knew he’d be good,” Larson said. “I’ve watched videos of him and he’s been really good here. His car had a lot of grip all night. I knew he’d be the one I’d have to beat. He got to the lead really quick and was ripping really hard up top.”

From there, the dynamic top two pulled away from the rest of the field and worked into traffic by lap seven. On lap nine, both cars were caught behind slower traffic and had to alter their preferred lines. Price-Miller ran the top wherever possible, while Larson stumbled upon a fast bottom lane.

“ It started getting really slick and slow off four and I actually made a mistake on the backstretch and ran the bottom on accident because I almost clipped the wall,” Larson said. “I gained time on him so I was like ‘okay, we can run down there’. Once we got to traffic I was able to work it and get by him on the bottom.”

Larson made what ultimately turned out to be the winning pass in traffic, when he returned the slide job in turn two and took the lead from Price-Miller for good. He was able to pull away on lap 16 when Price-Miller missed his entry into turn three in the top groove, but the lapped traffic forced Larson to remain sharp.

Larson took the white flag out in front of the field and raced down the backstretch to the checkered flag, but the caution waved for the first time before he could claim the win when Tom Huppunen spun at the top of turn three.

A one-lap dash settled the finish and Larson ran the top perfectly to claim the win.

“It’s an awesome race track,” Larson said. “This is one of the most fun tracks I’ve been to. It’s super slick, technical. The moisture was basically off the track, so you had to find that. I had a lot of fun racing with Parker.”

Price-Miller, the reigning Canadian Sprint Car Nationals winner after his victory last September, was happy with his second-place finish but was clear he aspired to beat the NASCAR star.

“I really wanted that one just because Kyle’s the best there is out there and it would be really cool to beat him,” Price-Miller said. “My guys gave me a great car and they fixed a lot of stuff from Friday night. I’m still a little soar and my arm kind of gets banged up racing, but you don’t think about it. It’s still a good night, but I like to win. We’re always good at Ohsweken, so we’ll try again tomorrow with the 410.”

Dylan Westbrook finished third, with Brown and Jared Zimbardi rounding out the top five.

Holly Porter scored a $1,000 victory in the Ackland Insurance Clash of the Crates for the Strickland’s GMC Crate Sprint Cars, Ryan Beagle scored his first ever Middleport Mechanical Thunder Stocks win in the 50-lap Brock Leonard Memorial and Joel Dick completed the sweep of UMP Modified competition at Ohsweken in 2017 with his second win of the year.


RESULTS: Burger Barn Northern Summer Nationals; Ohsweken Speedway; July 24, 2017

A-Feature (25 laps): 1. 57-Kyle Larson (1); 2. 67x-Parker Price-Miller (3); 3. 47x-Dylan Westbrook (9); 4. 10-Mitch Brown (2); 5. 35-Jared Zimabrdi (7); 6. 18-Ryan Susice (24); 7. 98-Joe Trenca (15); 8. 14h-Jim Huppunen (6); 9. 87-Jason Barney (5); 10. 5w-Ryan Coniam (4); 11. 3r-Shane Ross (22); 12. 91-Ryan Turner (17); 13. 0-Max Johnston (21); 14. 01k-Mikey Kruchka (12); 15. 67c-Steve Collins (23); 16. 17x-Dain Naida (10); 17. 77x-Alex Hill (19); 18. 27z-Stan Zanchin (18); 19. 21-Tom Huppunen (13); 20. 1-10-Jake Brown (20); 21. 9-Steve Lyons (16); 22. 38-Tyler Hendricks (14); 23. 49-Scott Kreutter (11); 24. 49x-Danny Lasoski (8).

Lap Leaders: Mitch Brown 1; Kyle Larson 2, 16-25; Parker Price-Miller 3-15.

Hard Charger: Ryan Susice (+18)

CREDIT: Ohsweken Speedway

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.