ASCOC: Go West, Men! All Star Sprints Set For Tripleheader Weekend

RaceChaser Staff Featured, Other Sprint Cars 0 Comments

Chad Kemenah (10H) leads the Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions westward this weekend. (CSP/Chris Seelman photo)

INDIANAPOLIS – With their first of two Western Pennsylvania swings complete, Tony Stewart’s Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions will turn their attention back to the Midwest this week.

The All Star travelers will visit three different facilities this week, two in the Land of Lincoln and one just across the Mississippi River in eastern Iowa, all of which will award $5,000 top prizes.

The weekend starts on Friday evening, June 9, with a visit to Lincoln (Ill.) Speedway. It will be only the second visit to Lincoln in Arctic Cat All Star history.

The weekend will continue just 45 miles southeast in Macon, Ill., where the Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions will visit Macon Speedway on Saturday, June 10. The one-fifth-mile track, the smallest oval on the Arctic Cat All Star schedule, will host the series for the eighth time in series history, but the first time since 2004.

Former two-time series champion Greg Wilson is the most recent All Star winner at Macon.

In addition, Tony Stewart, a three-time NASCAR Cup Series champion and owner of the Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions, will also be in action during competition at both Lincoln and Macon.

“We cannot wait for this weekend to arrive,” said Adam Mackey, Track Enterprises operations manager at Lincoln and Macon. “This is the biggest back-to-back weekend we’ve ever had at Lincoln Speedway and Macon Speedway. The Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions put on a great show last year at Lincoln. When you throw Macon in the mix for a doubleheader weekend, as well as have Tony Stewart racing a sprint car on both nights, what more could you ask for?”

After action on Saturday evening is complete, Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions competitors will make a near-three hour trip west, from the smallest oval on the circuit to the furthest west on the calendar.

34 Raceway in Burlington, Iowa will host the Arctic Cat All Stars on Sunday evening, June 11, capping off the three-race escapade through the Midwest. Sunday will mark only the second Arctic Cat All Star visit to the track in series history, and the first in nearly 20 years.

National Sprint Car Hall of Fame inductee Kenny Jacobs was the first and only Arctic Cat All Star winner at 34 Raceway, taking high honors on May 31, 1998.

Now a two-time series winner this year, Chad Kemenah will lead the Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions charge westbound, holding down the top spot in the current series points race.

The Alvada, Ohio, native wrapped up the most recent weekend of series competition with two podium finishes, one of which resulted in a victory at Mercer (Pa.) Raceway Park on June 3.

Caleb Armstrong will enter the weekend second in the Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions standings, qualifying for all 15 main events and earning eight top-10 finishes in the process. Armstrong trails Kemenah by 126 points, but maintains a 22-point lead over Caleb Helms.

Like Armstrong, Helms has qualified for all 15 programs, earning five top-10 finishes.

Ryan Smith and Tim Shaffer, a part-time traveler with the Arctic Cat All Stars this year, currently round out the top-five in the championship standings.

CREDIT: All Star Communications

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.