Sammy Swindell Headlines Chili Bowl Wednesday

Jacob Seelman Featured, Indoor Racing, Other Midgets 0 Comments

Sammy Swindell works around slower traffic during Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals practice on Monday. (TeeJay Crawford photo)

TULSA, Okla. – Five-time Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals champion Sammy Swindell leads a list of 92 entries scheduled to take part in Hard Rock Casino Qualifying Night on Wednesday.

Piloting the legendary No. 1 JCT/Spike-Stanton SR-11 entry out of the Swindell Motorsports stable, Swindell will seek his record-extending sixth Chili Bowl win and 10th for the family, as son Kevin won four in a row from 2010 to 2013.

Swindell, whose last Golden Driller came in 2009, is one of two former winners who will race Wednesday night.

He’ll be joined in the field by two-time Chili Bowl champion Rico Abreu, who will wheel the No. 97 Safelite Auto Glass/Bullet by Spike-Speedway Toyota entry for Keith Kunz/Curb-Agajanian Motorsports.

Abreu won the 55-lap championship A-Main back-to-back in 2015 and 2016, and looks to score a Golden Driller for the third time in the last four years.

NASCAR notable J.J. Yeley returns to the seat of the No. 2 Accell Construction-sponsored Boss-Speedway Toyota entry for MTY Motorsports, while nine-time World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series champion Donny Schatz will pilot the No. 15 NOS Energy Drink/Spike-Stanton machine for Clauson-Marshall Racing.

Defending AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car Series champion Chris Windom will pilot a team car to Schatz, carrying the No. 35TE in honor of the late Tony Elliott.

Meanwhile, Ryan Robinson will serve as a teammate to Abreu in the Kunz/Curb-Agajanian stable, piloting the blue and black No. 71 Abreu Vineyards mount.

Other notable names in Wednesday night’s entry pool include Outlaws regular Parker Price-Miller, who drives for Destiny Motorsports; non-wing sprint car aces Landon Simon and Kevin Thomas Jr.; Blake Hahn, the grandson of Chili Bowl co-founder Emmett Hahn; recent Tulsa Shootout winner Jason McDougal and former USAC sprint car champion Brady Bacon.

Action at the Tulsa Expo Center kicks off at 4 p.m. with hot laps, and the night will be headlined by a 25-lap preliminary A-Feature that will lock the top three finishers into Saturday night’s championship main event.

A full look at Wednesday night’s Hard Rock Casino Qualifying Night entry list is available on the next page…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.