Ryan Flores Bumps And Runs In Atlantic City

RaceChaser Staff Featured, Other Midgets 0 Comments

Ryan Flores (second from left) won Saturday’s Gambler’s Classic inside Atlantic City’s Boardwalk Hall. (Jim Smith/AARN photo)

ATLANTIC CITY, N.J. — Ryan Flores gained the lead with 13 laps left and won Saturday night’s 16th running of the Indoor Auto Racing Series Fueled By VP Racing Fuels TQ Midget Gambler’s Classic inside Atlantic City’s Boardwalk Hall.

Flores took command when leader Tim Buckwalter spun and held off Jimmy Blewett for the final 13 laps of the race to claim his first Gambler’s Classic win.

“I want to apologize to Timmy,” Flores said. “He slowed up a little, I got a bump from behind and couldn’t avoid hitting him.”

Flores outdistanced Blewett, third place finisher Justin Bonsignore, Matt Janisch and Buckwalter, who stormed from the back of the field into the top five in the final dozen laps.

Erick Rudolph, Ryan Preece, Anthony Sesely, Ryan Tidman and Timmy Catalano rounded out the top 10.

The race was red flagged on lap 18 for a crash on a restart that sent Brandon Azzalina’s car slamming into the fourth turn wall. Azzalina needed to be extricated from his car before being transported to an area hospital. He was said to be complaining of lower back pain but was conscious and alert.

Cale Ross scored the 25-lap Champ Kart headliner. Ross’s win was his second straight in Boardwalk Hall and his second straight in the 2018 Indoor Auto Racing Series, having won the series’ early January inaugural in Allentown, Pa.

Cameron Carter, who was leading the Champ Kart main event, would up being involved in an accident that occurred when another driver, who was running near the back of the field, spun in front of Carter.

Ross acquired the lead and held off Doug Stearly, Ryan Kendall, Todd Crenshaw and Tyler Brown to win. Champ Kart results are considered unofficial, pending a post-race technical inspection of the top finishers.

Brett Bieber drove to victory in the Slingshot 25-lap event over Seth Spayd, Tyler Truex, Kyle Herve and Cody Kline.

CREDIT: Len Sammons Motorsports Productions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.