Bell Heads Up Latest Tulsa Shootout Entry List

RaceChaser Staff Featured, Micro Sprints 0 Comments

Christopher Bell will return to the Tulsa Shootout this winter, chasing his first win in the annual event. (TeeJay Crawford photo)

TULSA, Okla. — With less than two weeks before the early entry goes up to $120 per class, 295 drivers combining for 625 entries across eight classes have officially filed to compete during the 33rd Lucas Oil Tulsa Shootout at Tulsa Expo Raceway.

Just ahead of last year’s entry count at this time, the list of drivers that make this year’s growing roster includes 2017 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series champion Christopher Bell.

Entered into five divisions for the coming Tulsa Shootout, Bell was busy over the weekend adding two more wins to his season — one in USAC National Midget competition at the 77th Turkey Night Grand Prix and a second in ASCS Southwest Regional competition at the Copper Classic.

Bell is currently entered in both divisions of A-Class and Outlaw, as well as the 1200cc Mini Sprints.

In the 32nd edition of the Tulsa Shootout, Bell’s best finish came in the A-Class Non-Wing Feature with a run from seventh to second as Frank Flud picked up his second career Non-Wing win and fourth overall Golden Driller since 2014. Bell went on to win the 31st running of the Chili Bowl Nationals.

On that subject, the use of the Shootout as a practice for the Chili Bowl has become very common. At last count, Bell is among 11 drivers so far that are entered into both events, with four having captured at least one Tulsa Shootout triumph.

At the current juncture, 22 drivers on the entry list have won in Tulsa Shootout competition.

Blake Hahn leads the Golden Driller count among drivers entered with seven, having won in Junior Sprints, both divisions of Outlaw, and ECOtec Midgets.

Seven of last year’s winners are set to return.

CREDIT: Tulsa Shootout

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.