IMSA: Alegra Motorsports Sets Eyes On North American Endurance Cup

RaceChaser Staff Road Racing, WeatherTech 0 Comments

Alegra Motorsports plans to enter all four of the North American Endurance Cup races in 2017. (CNW Group/Alegra Motorsports photo)

TAMPA, Fla – Alegra Motorsports has announced their plans to enter the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship Tequila Patron North American Endurance Cup in 2017.

Alegra Motorsports will race in the GT Daytona class with the new Porsche 911 GT3 R.

The team will have IMSA Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge champions Daniel Morad, Jesse Lazare and Michael de Quesada as drivers, along with former Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge champion and team principal Carlos de Quesada behind the wheel for the Rolex 24.

The team plans to compete in the GT Daytona class during at least the Rolex 24 at Daytona Int’l Speedway in January as well as the other three North American Endurance Cup at Sebring Int’l Raceway on March 18, Watkins Glen Int’l on July 2 and Road Atlanta on Oct. 7.

Morad, from Toronto, won the Platinum Cup class championship in the Ultra 94 Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge Canada by Yokohama and captured the IMSA North American Cup last year during his second season with Alegra Motorsports.

Lazare, from Montreal, captured the Platinum Cup title last season in the Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge USA by Yokohama. 

Michael de Quesada, from Tampa, Fla., won the Gold Cup class championship last season in the USA series at the age of 16, the youngest champion in series history. Carlos de Quesada, also from Tampa, Fla., won the Gold Cup title in Canada in 2013.

“This is an unbelievable lineup of young talented drivers,” Carlos de Quesada said. “Alegra has been around for 20 years, and I can say that these three drivers are some of the most talented I’ve ever worked with.”

The team will be guided by veteran team manager Andy Greene. Under Greene’s guidance, the Alegra Motorsports team won the Platinum Class team championship during the 2015 and 2016 Ultra 94 Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge Canada by Yokohama seasons.

CREDIT: PRNewswire for Alegra Motorsports

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.