NSCS: Chip Ganassi Racing Teammates Control Opening Sprint Cup Sonoma Practice

Marshall Gabell NASCAR, West 0 Comments

Kyle Larson was fastest in the opening practice session for the Toyota/Save Mart 350 at Sonoma Raceway. (Jonathon Ferrey photo)

Kyle Larson was fastest in the opening practice session for the Toyota/Save Mart 350 at Sonoma Raceway. (Jonathon Ferrey photo)

SONOMA, Calif. — Chip Ganassi Racing opened the first practice for the Toyota/Save Mart 350 at Sonoma Raceway, the first road course event on the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series schedule, in the best possible fashion on Friday afternoon.

Kyle Larson led the hour-long session in his No. 42 Target Chevrolet, while his Ganassi teammate Jamie McMurray was second fastest.

Larson posted the quickest speed at 95.141 mph (75.299 seconds). His teammate, on the other hand, was almost half a second behind him.

Martin Truex Jr. was third fastest in the session for his No. 78 Furniture Row Toyota team.

Dale Earnhardt Jr. and Joe Gibbs Racing’s Carl Edwards completed the top five positions.

There were no accidents during the practice, however, Regan Smith’s machine did drop oil on the racetrack when the session began — the cleanup lasted for almost 20 minutes.

Aric Almirola, Danica Patrick, Michael McDowell, rookie Brian Scott, and Joey Logano rounded out the top ten in the practice.

Jimmie Johnson recorded the fastest 10 consecutive lap average in his No. 48 Lowe’s Chevrolet.

Happy Hour for the Sprint Cup Series is scheduled for 6:30 p.m. Eastern from the Sonoma, Calif. circuit.


RESULTS; NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Opening Practice; Sonoma Raceway; June 24, 2016

  1. Kyle Larson
  2. Jamie McMurray
  3. Martin Truex Jr.
  4. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  5. Carl Edwards
  6. Aric Almirola
  7. Danica Patrick
  8. Michael McDowell
  9. Brian Scott
  10. Joey Logano
  11. Kurt Busch
  12. Casey Mears
  13. Matt Kenseth
  14. Kyle Busch
  15. Jimmie Johnson
  16. Denny Hamlin
  17. Kevin Harvick
  18. Tony Stewart
  19. A.J. Allmendinger
  20. Clint Bowyer
  21. Brad Keselowski
  22. Chase Elliott
  23. Greg Biffle
  24. Kasey Kahne
  25. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  26. Ryan Newman
  27. Paul Menard
  28. David Ragan
  29. Austin Dillon
  30. Ryan Blaney
  31. Cole Whitt
  32. Trevor Bayne
  33. Chris Buescher
  34. Patrick Carpenter
  35. Regan Smith
  36. Landon Cassill
  37. Matt DiBenedetto
  38. Josh Wise
  39. Dylan Lupton
  40. Michael Annett
  41. Cody Ware


About the Writer 

Marshall Gabell is the Mid-Atlantic Correspondent for Race Chaser Online, and was also formerly the public relations director for NASCAR Next member Austin Hill. Gabell is currently attending Stephen Decatur High School in Ocean City, Maryland, completing his sophomore year. He is just 15 years old.

Email Marshall at: rcomarshallgabell@gmail.com

Follow on Twitter: @MarshallGabell

Email Race Chaser Online: news@racechaseronline.com

Follow RCO on Twitter: @RaceChaserNews


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.