UMP MODS: Strickler Holds Back Ty Dillon to Win During DIRTcar Nationals at Volusia

RaceChaser Staff Dirt Modifieds, Dirt Track Racing, Southeast 0 Comments

BARBERVILLE, Fla. — official event release — DIRTcar photo —

Kyle Strickler held off Ty Dillon to capture the DIRTcar UMP Modified nightcap Wednesday night at Volusia Speedway Park’s DIRTcar Nationals.

Strickler powered through a clean but wild UMP Modified main event, riding the cushion as Ty Dillon applied the pressure. A late caution bunched everybody together but Strickler, of Mooresville, N.C., had a strong restart to keep Ty Dillon behind him.

“That cushion was getting a little rough up there, lapped traffic, that was getting a little crazy,” Strickler said. “I wasn’t sure how close the Dillon boys were there. Those guys, they’ve had rocket ships last night and tonight. I knew they would be coming and if I could pick and choose my way through lapped traffic that was going to help me.”

“Starting up front definitely was very important. If I could get to that cushion I was going to have a good restart because I got some of that moisture off of four here and got to the top.”

Austin Dillon, who won on Tuesday night, advanced four spots to finish third ahead of hard charger Nick Hoffman, who improved 10 spots.

Nightly doubleheaders at Volusia run Thursday through Saturday, Feb. 21. Thursday night’s action once again features Tony Stewart’s UNOH All Star Circuit of Champions Sprint Cars and DIRTcar UMP Modifieds.

For more information and updates on the DIRTcar Nationals, click or follow on Twitter at @DIRTcarNats.

DIRTcar Nationals Statistical Report; Feb. 11, 2015; Volusia Speedway Park; Barberville, Fla.

DIRTcar UMP Modified A-Main (20 Laps) –1. (8) Kyle Strickler ($1;000) [1]; 2. (41) Ty Dillon [3]; 3. (3) Austin Dillon [7]; 4. (2) Nick Hoffman [14]; 5. (BD4) Jackie Boggs [2]; 6. (64JR) Billy Workman Jr [4]; 7. (13) Jake Hawkins [9]; 8. (36) Kenny Wallace [6]; 9. (51) Justin Allgaier [17]; 10. (9) Ken Schrader [15]; 11. (Z8) Max McLaughlin [8]; 12. (67) Garret Stewart [18]; 13. (88) Matt Crafton [12]; 14. (1G) Devin Gilpin [20]; 15. (77) Ray Bollinger [11]; 16. (85S) Mike Smith [10]; 17. (90) Jason Beaulieu [24]; 18. (72) Todd Neiheiser [19]; 19. (96) Cory Daugherty [22]; 20. (71) Joel Ortberg [21]; 21. (33) Jeff Mathews [5]; 22. (K9) Will Krup [13]; 23. (9M) Dale Mathison [16]; 24. (25) Tyler Nicely [23].

CREDIT: DIRTcar Nationals

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.