TUSC: Ganassi Ford EcoBoosts 1-2 In Final Practice

RaceChaser Staff Road Racing, Southeast, WeatherTech 0 Comments

March 14, 2014 — IMSA photo — SEBRING, FL — Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates landed a one-two Prototype punch in the final minute of Friday morning’s TUDOR United SportsCar Championship practice at the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring Fueled by Fresh From Florida, with Scott Pruett and Scott Dixon turning the fastest laps in the one-hour session.

Pruett ran a lap of 1:53.241 (118.897 mph) in the No. 01 Ford EcoBoost/Riley shared by Memo Rojas and Marino Franchitti, followed by Dixon with a time of 1:53.500 (118.626 mph) in the No. 02 Ford EcoBoost/Riley co-driven by Tony Kanaan and Sage Karam.

“It was all a matter of traffic,” Rojas said of his teammates. “They were running together, but didn’t get out of traffic until right at the end.”

Qualifying begins at 4:10 p.m. ET today with 15-minute sessions for each of the TUDOR Championship classes, beginning with GT Daytona (GTD) and continuing with GT Le Mans (GTLM), Prototype Challenge (PC), and Prototype (P).

Saturday’s race begins at 10:15 a.m. ET. Live FOX Sports 1 coverage runs from 10 a.m.-1 p.m. ET, with the remainder of the event streamed live on IMSA.com. FOX Sports 1 also will air a three-hour highlight telecast on Sunday beginning at 8:30 a.m. ET.

Prior to the final minute, three P2 cars now running in the headlining  Prototype class held the top three positions. Olivier Pla wound up third in the No. 42 Morgan/Nissan for OAK Racing, running a lap of 1:53.567 (118.556 mph) in the car co-driven by Gustavo Yacaman and Alex Brundle. Johannes van Overbeek was fourth in the Extreme Speed Motorsports Tequila Patrón HPD ARX-03b/Honda co-driven by Ed Brown and Simon Pagenaud, running 1:53.745 (118.370 mph). Fifth was Jann Mardenborough with a lap of 1:53.887 118.222 mph) in Muscle Milk Pickett Racing’s No. 6 ORECA/Nissan.

Antonio Garcia ran the fastest lap of the weekend in GTLM for Corvette Racing,  1:59.133 (113.017 mph) in the No. 3 Corvette C7.R co-driven by Jan Magnussen and Ryan Briscoe. He was followed by the two BMW Team RLL team cars. Dirk Mueller was second in the No. 56 BMW Z4 GTE co-driven by John Edwards and Dirk Werner, running 1:59.367 (112.795 mph). He was followed by Andy Priaulx, who ran 1:59.376 (112.786 mph) in the No. 55 BMW Z4 GTE he shares with Bill Auberlen and Joey Hand.

Raphael Matos was fastest in PC, running 1:56.434 (115.636 mph) in the No. 38 Performance Tech Motorsports ORECA FLM09 co-driven by Charlie Shears and David Ostella.

Turning the fastest GTD lap of the weekend was the No. 71 Porsche 911 GT America of Kevin Estre, Mike Vess, Patrick Lindsey and Jim Norman with a lap of 2:03.449 (109.065 mph).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *