NXS: Kyle Busch Paces XFINITY Happy Hour; Phoenix Track Record Likely in Jeopardy

Jacob Seelman NASCAR, Southeast, Southwest 0 Comments

AVONDALE, Ariz. — Report by Race Chaser Online Managing Editor Jacob Seelman — Matt Sullivan/Getty Images North America photo —

Surprise, surprise. (Not really.)

Kyle Busch soared to the top of the speed charts on his mock qualifying run during Friday’s second and final NASCAR XFINITY Series practice session at Phoenix International Raceway, posting a time quicker than the current track record of 26.627 seconds (135.201 mph) held by Joey Logano during the 85-minute period.

Busch’s lap of 26.570 seconds (135.491 mph) around the one-mile Avondale oval puts him in prime position to score his sixth XFINITY win of the 2015 season during Saturday’s DAV 200: Honoring America’s Heroes (4 p.m. ET, NBCSN/Live Extra, MRN, SiriusXM). The NASCAR Sprint Cup Series veteran is also the all-time leading NXS winner at Phoenix, with seven trophies to his name at the ‘Jewel in the Desert’.

Behind Busch, Ty Dillon finished Happy Hour in the same position he finished first practice — second-quick on the time sheets. Dillon posted a time of 26.575 seconds (135.466 mph) on his final of 60 timed laps in the No. 3 Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet, and sits third in a four-man championship battle in the XFINITY ranks with two races remaining on the schedule.

Dillon’s RCR teammate, Brendan Gaughan, was the final driver to break the current track record in practice; he toured PIR in 26.608 seconds (135.298 mph) to go third-quickest overall.

Series points leader Chris Buescher made an impressive rebound in his Ford Mustang, improving from 12th in first practice to fourth (26.687/134.897) in the final round, and reigning series champion Chase Elliott (26.710/134.781) capped off the ‘Fast Five’.

First practice leader Austin Dillon — who smashed even Busch’s quick lap with his run earlier in the day — was seventh (26.860/134.028), unable to improve on his time despite running the most laps (63) of anyone in final practice. Defending race winner Brad Keselowski clocked in eighth on the pylon, and fellow Sprint Cup regular Kyle Larson was 10th for HScott Motorsports with Chip Ganassi.

Coors Light Pole Qualifying for the NASCAR XFINITY Series takes place on Saturday at 12:45 p.m. ET (NBCSN/Live Extra, MRN, SiriusXM).


RESULTS: NASCAR XFINITY Series; Final Practice; Phoenix International Raceway; Nov. 13, 2015

  1. Kyle Busch
  2. Ty Dillon
  3. Brendan Gaughan
  4. Chris Buescher
  5. Chase Elliott
  6. Erik Jones
  7. Austin Dillon
  8. Brad Keselowski
  9. Daniel Suarez
  10. Kyle Larson
  11. Darrell Wallace Jr.
  12. J.J. Yeley
  13. Ryan Sieg
  14. Regan Smith
  15. Brian Scott
  16. Kasey Kahne
  17. Elliott Sadler
  18. Ryan Reed
  19. Mike Bliss
  20. Dakoda Armstrong
  21. Jeremy Clements
  22. Dylan Kwasniewski
  23. Anthony Kumpen
  24. David Starr
  25. Ross Chastain
  26. Blake Koch
  27. Joey Gase
  28. Landon Cassill
  29. Mario Gosselin
  30. Jeff Green
  31. Timmy Hill
  32. B.J. McLeod
  33. Ross Kenseth
  34. Harrison Rhodes
  35. T.J. Bell
  36. Eric McClure
  37. Matt Waltz
  38. Korbin Forrister
  39. Carl Long
  40. Morgan Shepherd
  41. Ruben Pardo
  42. Mike Harmon


About the Writer

Jacob Seelman is the Managing Editor of Race Chaser Online and creator of the Motorsports Madness radio show, airing at 7 p.m. Eastern every Monday on the Performance Motorsports Network. Seelman grew up in the sport, watching his grandparents co-own the RaDiUs Motorsports NASCAR Cup Series team in the 1990s.

The 21-year-old is currently studying Broadcast Journalism at Winthrop University in Rock Hill, S.C., and is also serving as the full-time tour announcer for both the United Sprint Car Series and the Must See Racing Sprint Car Series.

Email Jacob at: speed77radio@gmail.com

Follow on Twitter: @Speed77Radio or @JacobSeelman77

Email Race Chaser Online: news@racechaseronline.com

Follow RCO on Twitter: @RaceChaserNews

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.