NNS: Mike Ford Named New Crew Chief for John Wes Townley

RaceChaser Staff Midwest, NASCAR, Southeast 0 Comments

ATHENS, Ga. — official release — Gregory Shamus/Getty Images North America photo — Athenian Motorsports announced veteran NASCAR crew chief Mike Ford has joined the team as the crew chief for the #25 Zaxby’s NASCAR Nationwide Series Toyota Camry with driver John Wes Townley.

Mike Ford has more than 20 years in NASCAR and has worked as a NASCAR Sprint Cup crew chief since 2000. From 2001-2003 Ford served as crew chief for Bill Elliott at Evernham Motorsports and won four races, including the 2002 Brickyard 400. Ford led Dale Jarrett to a victory in the 2004 Bud Shootout at Daytona International Speedway.

In 2006, he joined Joe Gibbs Racing for a six year pairing with Denny Hamlin. As the crew chief of the No. 11 car Ford won 17 races and had championship finishes of 2nd, 3rd, 5th, 8th, 9th, and 12th, never missing a Chase.

In 2012, Ford moved to Richard Petty Motorsports to be the crew chief for Aric Almirola and Marcos Ambrose. In late 2012, he moved to BK Racing as the Director of Competition where he remained until joining Athenian Motorsports.

Ford will now lead the #25 Athenian Motorsports team as crew chief for the remainder of 2014 with driver John Wes Townley beginning at Kansas Speedway on Friday.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *