Carolina Speedway: Timbo Mangum Scores First Career Roush Yates Late Model Win

RaceChaser Staff Carolinas Racing, Southeast 0 Comments

March 24, 2014 — GASTONIA, NC – Randy Houser photo — Timbo Mangum continued his hot start to the 2014 racing season as the Lancaster, SC native captured his first career Roush Yates Late Model victory at Carolina Speedway.

Mangum, fresh off a second place finish in last week’s SECA main event led wire to wire for the $1,200 win. Greg Clark came home a solid second with Ross Bailes third. Bailes was utilizing the new Chevrolet 525 motor. Robbie Bailey and Gary Puckett rounded out the top five.

In the Domino’s Pizza Street Stock feature it was Jake Gibbons collecting his first career Carolina Speedway win. Marty Reid, Mike Messer, Tim Edison and Brandon Dockery completed the top five.

Bryan Mullis drove to the Tilley Harley Davidson Renegade win. Aaron Hemby was second with John Rhyne third, Terry Quinn fourth and Chris Stowe fifth.

Jerry Oliver kept Blake Pryor at bay to score the Q2U BBQ Pit Four Cylinder win. Third through fifth went to; Randy Weaver, Mike Miller and Aaron Summit.

Tyler Bennett won a very competitive main event in the Hornets feature. Scott Cloninger, Casey Shane, Christopher Meadows and Gene Loden followed.

This Friday Night March 29th is the first points race of 2014. On the card will be the SECA Late Models, UMP Modifieds, Q2U BBQ Pit Four Cylinders, Domino’s Pizza Street Stocks, Tilley Harley Davidson Renegades and Hornets. Gates open at 5:00 with racing at 8:00 pm. General admission is only $12. Kids 11 and under are free. For more information please visit


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.