WOODHULL: Josh Nobriga Collects 1st Career Modified Win At ‘New York’s Toughest Bullring’

RaceChaser Staff Dirt Modifieds, Dirt Track Racing, Northeast, Other Dirt Late Models 0 Comments

WOODHULL, NY — official release — A record crowd graced the Woodhull Raceway facility as Instant Heat Wood Pellets presented a regular Big Six show and it was nothing short of ‘Fan’tastic as they also honored one of the founding fathers of the Woodhull Raceway, Jim Williams, with a 28 minute fireworks show.

For the first time in his career, Josh Nobriga led all 25 laps and picked up his first feature win in Modified competition. The Deming’s Service Center, Instant Heat Wood Pellets sponsored #22 started on the pole and, Billy Vanpelt, who started  third, tried numerous tactics to get around the Nobriga Machine but it was not enough.

The first caution did not occur until lap 17, and then not again until lap 23, and Nobriga had perfect restarts on each and became now the 7th different main event winner in the Insinger performance 370 Modified’s. Billy Vanpelt had to settle for the runner up spot.

“I hate starting on the pole, and being the immediate target, but you just have to deal with it. Other than getting married, this is the best feeling in the world, I have an awesome crew, everything in this car is top notch, I love this place, when you get to compete against some of the best like Vanpelt, Eric Fisher, Donnie Lawson, and everyone else, and come out with a win, it is awesome!” Nobriga said in his interview in front of thousands of fans on fireworks night. Eric Fisher came in third, followed by Donnie Lawson, and Ron Cartwright.

In his only fifth race in 2014 at Woodhull, John Waters was able to pass Buck Payne on lap 23 and pick up his fourth win at Woodhull in the S&W Awards and Photos 360 Late Models. Buck Payne started on the pole and led the 13 car field where he was able to hold off Waters until Payne’s #39 machine did not stick coming out of corner number 2 and Waters was able to capitalize. However, Waters and Payne are driver team mates and car owner Dale Lebarron did well as the TCAP team finished 1 & 2 in the 25 lap feature.  Glenn Writenour finished in third, followed by Jay McConnell and Carl Hughes.

It was almost a year ago when Cory Costa picked up his first ever features win in a Street Stock, now in a NAPA Crate Sportsman, he was able to pick up his first win in Crate competition. Russ Morseman took over the top spot on lap four and Cory Costa found himself in the runner up position by lap nine, after starting ninth.

Costa and Morseman then went on to battle for the top spot. Then on lap twenty, lap traffic became a factor and it favored Morseman as he was able to extend his lead but once Costa was able to get rid of lap traffic he was able to contest Morseman once again on lap 23 and pass Morseman coming out of turn four and go on to lead the remaining two laps and the NAPA Crate Sportsman rookie of the year contender, Corey Costa picked up his first feature win of 2014.

Teddy Morseman led all twenty laps en route to his fifth feature in 2014, and now extends his point lead. Jeredd Dennis, Brett Marlatt, Kreg Crooker, and Tracy Dunn completed the top five.

Brandon Morseman was able to cruise and pick up his third feature win of 2014 over James Kreidler, Eric Ellsworth Rick Amidon and Brian Sr. Jason Gleason was the race leader on a lap 7 restart before receiving a right rear flat, and Morseman led from there on.

Ryan Austin was able to squares things away after an inconsistent last couple of weeks and pick up his third feature win in 2014. Austin switched leads multiple times with Cody Baker, Adam Delgrosso before Austin was able to run away with it from lap 13 on. Baker finished in second, as Delgrosso scored position number three, Wes Houghtalin finished fourth and Carl Lebarorn finished fifth.

Next week, Rotsells family restaurant presents a regular Big 6 show, and NAPA Auto parts presents the second annual NAPA Crate Sportsman King of the Ring. For more information, find us on facebook or log onto www.woodhullraceway.com.


*Unofficial Quick Results
S&W Awards and Photos 360 Late Models
Cars: 13
Heats:  Buck Payne, John Waters
Feature: JOHN WATERS (4) , Buck Payne, Glenn Writenour, Jay McConnell, Carl Hughes, Steve Lebarron, Jason McGregor, Mick Seeley, Rick Loucks, Mike Wonderling Sr, Josh Smith, Mike Wonderling Jr, Cecil Lebarron

Insinger Performance 370 Modified’s
Cars: 13
Heats: Mike Bills, Steve Hartman Jr, Donnie Lawson
Feature: JOSH NOBRIGA (1), Billy Vanpelt, Eric Fisher, Donnie Lawson, Ron Cartwright, Brady Fultz, Steve Hartman Jr, Stacey Jackson, Bobby Davis, Casey Pavlick, Bryan Doolittle, Joe Dgein, Kevin Chilson, Art Goodier, Dave Dubois, Chris Fisher, Grant Hilfiger, Mike Bills, Ron White, Roger Williams, Ray Bliss Jr, Ray Bliss
NAPA Crate Sportsman
Cars: 23
Heats: Corey Costa, Josh Keesey, Russ Morseman
Feature: COREY COSTA (1), Russ Morseman, Jake Dgein, Chris Daugherty, AJ Costley, AJ Potrzebowski, Bobby Peoples, Kenny Peoples Sr, Josh Keesey, John Hargrave, Tim Guild, Collin Brown, Brett Buono, Steve Andrulonis, Marc Benson, Brandon Butler, Brandon Mart, Harry Vosburg, Zach Carey, Chris Clark, Dillon Groover
Joe Willcox Performance Street Stocks
Cars: 14
Heats: Bob Buono, Tracy Dunn
Feature: TEDDY MORSEMAN (5), Jeredd Dennis, Brett Marlatt, Kreg Crooker, Tracey Dunn, Frank Chapman Jr, Trevor Tompkins, Bob Buono, Gary Archer, Matt Machuga, Allison Peirce, Mike Kerr, Kevin Parsons, Bob Butcher

Signs Plus Mini Stocks
Heats: Eric Ellsworth
Feature: BRANDON MORESEMAN (3), James Kreidler, Eric Ellsworth, Rick Amidon, Brian Grant, John Hand, Doug Colton, Derek Puryear, Josh Collins, Mike Koser, Mike Navone, Jason Gleason, Chris Hand, Dan Roe, Travis McDonald(DQ)

Woodhull Auto Supply Front Wheel Drives
Heats: Cody Baker, Adam Delgrosso,
Feature: RYAN AUSTIN (3), Cody Baker, Adam Delgrosso, Wes Houghtalin, Carl Lebarron, Matt Prescott, Nate Freeland, Shane Kemp, Eric Simmons, Jake McConnell, Jared Sullivan, Shawn Gleason

Extra Notes
Start Time: 6:50
End Time: 11:20 (including 28 minute firework show)
50/50: $2511.00 (Andrew Fish- Elkland, PA)
Joe Willcox Junior Fan of the week: Braylon Griffin (Favorite Driver: Glenn Writenour)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *