WOO LMS: Selinsgrove’s Late Model National Open Set for Labor Day Weekend in 2016

RaceChaser Staff Dirt Track Racing, Northeast, Other Dirt Late Models, World of Outlaws Sprint Cars 0 Comments

SELINSGROVE, Pa. – official track release —

The World of Outlaws Late Model Series will return to Selinsgrove Speedway in 2016 for the 18th annual Late Model National Open on Sunday, Sept. 4.

For the second year in a row, the Open will be a single-day event over the Labor Day holiday weekend paying $8,000 to win the 40-lap A-main. A purse of more than $35,000 will be on the line for the division’s crown jewel event at the historic Snyder County half-mile clay oval.

Last year, Darrell Lanigan of Union, Ky., wired the field for his third straight win in the Late Model Open. He became the first driver to pull off the hat trick with three consecutive victories.

Chris Shuey won the inaugural Late Model Open in 1999 followed by a win in the 2001 race. Jeff Rine, the track’s 11-time champion, is the only four-time winner of the race, having won the Open in 2005, 2006, 2008, and 2009. Nick Dickson is the only other repeat winner with victories in 2007 and 2012.

Other past winners of the Late Model Open include Kenny Pettyjohn (2000); Dale Kerstetter (2002); Jeff Smith (2003); Scott Haus (2004); Dan Stone (2010); and Rick Eckert (2011).

The limited late models will share the racing card in a 20-lap main event.

Selinsgrove’s Late Model Open will cap off a big Labor Day holiday weekend for the World of Outlaws Late Model Series in Pennsylvania with races also scheduled at the Lernerville Speedway on Sept. 2-3.

CREDIT: Selinsgrove Speedway

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.