WOO: David Gravel Leaves Destiny; Joins CJB Motorsports for 2016 World of Outlaws Season

RaceChaser Staff Dirt Track Racing, Featured, Northeast, Other Sprint Cars, Sprints & Midgets, World of Outlaws Sprint Cars 0 Comments

TELFORD, Pa. —¬†official team release — KBro Photography photo —

2016 will be a year of change for CJB Motorsports.

The Chad and Jenn Clemens-owned organization announced Monday afternoon that 23-year-old David Gravel will become the driver of the team’s World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series entry for the new season, which kicks off Feb. 12-14 at Volusia Speedway Park with the DIRTcar Nationals.

The CJB Motorsports No. 5 for 2016.

The CJB Motorsports No. 5 for 2016.

The car, which has carried the No. 51 in recent years, will change to the No. 5 for the new season.

“We are extremely excited to welcome David to our team,” said the Clemens. “2016 is shaping up to be a pivotal year for our organization. We feel that the addition of David will help propel our team to the next level. He is an excellent young man with plenty of talent behind the wheel. Between him and Sammy (Swindell) we feel as though we have one of the best ‘one-two’ punches in sprint car racing.”

“We are also looking forward to making some new history and memories with the No. 5. We have quite the story with car No. 51 but felt it was time for a new chapter.”

Gravel departs Destiny Motorsports to join the CJB operation, which scored three victories and finished seventh in the WoO points standings in 2015 with driver Paul McMahan.

The native of Watertown, Conn. is no stranger to the sprint car world. The youngster has spent the past two years traveling fulltime with the ‘Greatest Show on Dirt.’ In that time, he has captured five victories and the 2013 Kevin Gobrecht Rookie of the year award. Among his five wins was a thriller in the 2014 Williams Grove National Open.

While he went winless in 2015, Gravel did score 10 top fives, 31 top 10s and two quick times between the Roth Motorsports No. 83 and the Destiny Motorsports No. 7.

CREDIT: CJB Motorsports

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.