WEEDSPORT: Work Continues On Weedsport Speedway Facelift; Sportsman Classic To Run July 13th

Steven Ovens Dirt Modifieds, Dirt Track Racing, Featured, Northeast 0 Comments

WEEDSPORT, NY — Story by Race Chaser Online New York Correspondent Steven Ovens — Photos courtesy of Jimmy Phelps and Steven Ovens — The facelift continues and the roar of race cars is soon to fill the air at the Cayuga County Fairgrounds now known as the Weedsport Speedway.

A little over 2 weeks from now, the fans and race teams will begin to fill the pit area and grandstand area that will have an all-new look to it including a brand new grandstand area.  Weedsport Speedway Manager Jimmy Phelps on Thursday afternoon tweeted out a photo of the new grandstands as a bit of a teaser leading up to the July 13th Sportsman Classic.

Jimmy Phelps Wdsprt Spdw June 2014 tweet

The transformation comes as part of a new ownership group at the former Cayuga County Fair Speedway led by Al Heinke, partner in Heinke Baldwin Racing which owns Big Block Modified entries for Phelps and ‘Super Matt’ Sheppard on the Super DIRTcar Series.  With Heinke leading the ship and Phelps putting paper and pen plans into action, fans are going to be treated to a new and improved Weedsport Speedway racing experience.

One major difference they will notice is the lack of the infield stage that became iconic with races at the 3/8 mile dirt track.  The stage was erected in the 1980’s under the ownership of DIRT Motorsports founder Glenn Donnelly who brought in some of the biggest acts in the music industry.  They coined the phrase that became synonymous with Cayuga County Fair Speedway- “You know it’s summer when they’re rockin’ in Weedsport!”  The stage removal will provide a much greater view of the very racy Weedsport backstretch, where some of the best racing on the track takes place.

Weedsport infield stage

Another major difference that race fans and more importantly the race teams will notice- the pit area is being moved to the area of the grounds located off of Turn 3 and 4 with cars entering and exiting the speedway off Turn 4.  The area located behind Turn 1 will now become expanded parking areas close to the grandstands which race fans are sure to enjoy.

Throw in as well spruced up bathroom and concession areas, new VIP and official towers and you have what will be almost an entirely new speedway.  Race fans and teams will not recognize what they see when they roll in on July 13th.  The race track will certainly be about the only thing that is the same, although Phelps has said that they have plans to make the racing surface easier on equipment.  ‘Old School’ Weedsport fans will also be thrilled to find out the inside jersey barriers in Turn 4 have returned as well.

On the schedule that night will be the Sportsman Modifieds and the RaceSaver 305 Sprint Cars.  The 75-Lap Sportsman Classic will pay $2,500 to the winner, with the winner of the B-Main collecting $500 for their efforts.  Pit gates open at 4:00pm, general admission gates open at 5:00pm with opening ceremonies slated for 7:00pm.

Stay tuned to www.weedsportspeedway.com and www.racechaseronline.com for further developments as the Sportsman Classic approaches.

‘Weedsport Speedway STAT-BOY Sitdown’

Sportsman Modified Track Champions

1988 Mike Button
1989 Mike Button
1990 Mike Button
1991 Kevin Blacken
1992 Scott Schrader
1993 Byron Turner
1994 Byron Turner
1995 Chuck Bower
1996 Mike Button
1997 Jim Gabriel Jr.
1998 Rick Miller/Vince Vitale
1999 Jim Spano
2000 Matt Sheppard
2001 Steve Gray
2002 Eldon Payne Jr.
2003 Ryan Richardson
2004 Bob Henry Jr.
2005 N/A
2006 Russ Hefti
2007 Jeremy Pitcher
2008 Jeremy Pitcher
2009 Tom Juhl
2010 Steve Gray

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *