VMRS: Les Hinckley Wins Lee’s Oktoberfest; Woody Pitkat Takes Back Points Lead

RaceChaser Staff Asphalt Modifieds, Featured, New England, Northeast, Touring Series 0 Comments

LEE, N.H. — official series release — Crystal Snape photo —

Windsor Locks, Conn. veteran Les Hinckley III raced to victory Sunday afternoon at Lee USA Speedway in the annual Oktoberfest 100.

The win was Hinckley’s second Valenti Modified Racing Series triumph this season.

The event was contested in two 50-lap races. Hinckley was credited with the overall win by virtue of his third place finish in the first segment, and his first place finish in the second 50-lap sprint.

In the opening race, Woody Pitkat, of Stafford Springs, Conn. grabbed the lead from pole-sitter Jon McKennedy and went on to victory. McKennedy settled for second followed by Hinckley, Mike Willis Jr, and Todd Patnode. Sixth through tenth were Dennis Perry, Donnie Lashua, David Schneider, Kevin Ianarelli, and Dylan Kopec.

In the second 50-lap race, Kirk Alexander, of W. Swanzey, NH, took the early lead but when the checkered flag fell, it was Hinckley rolling to victory lane from his 19th starting position, winning his 19th career VMRS race and his fourth at Lee.

Mike Willis Jr. made a great late race charge to finish runner-up with Norm Wrenn, Pitkat and McKennedy rounding out the top five. Keith Rocco, Alexander, Schneider, Todd Szegedy and Donnie Lashua completed the top ten.

Hinckley was declared the overall winner while Pitkat regained the leadi n the point standings. Pitkat is now seven points (450-443) ahead of Chris Pasteryak, who led by 21 points going into the weekend.

The final race of the year is at this weekend’s annual World Series of Speedway Racing at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park. Qualifying takes place on Friday, Oct. 16 with the 50-lap season ending feature scheduled for Saturday, Oct. 17.


RESULTS: Valenti Modified Racing Series; Oktoberfest 100; Lee USA Speedway; October 11, 2015

Overall Finish (100 laps; split into two 50-lap segments): (1) Hinckley, (2) Pitkat (3) Willis Jr, (4) McKennedy, (5) Wrenn, (6) Schneider, (7) Lashua, (8) Kopec (9) K. Rocco, (10) Seuss, (11) Ianarelli, (12) Alexander, (13) Szegedy (14) Patnode, (15) Perry, (16) Pasteryak, (17) Pennink, (18 Doucette, (19) Swanson, (20) Holdridge, (21) Storace, (93) Sherman, (23) Mead, (24) Medeiros

CREDIT: Valenti Modified Racing Series

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.