SUPERMODIFIEDS: Oswego Speedway Track Championships to Otto Sitterly, Andrew Schartner

RaceChaser Staff Midwest, Northeast, Sprints & Midgets, Supermodifieds 0 Comments

OSWEGO, N.Y. — official release — Bill Taylor photo — After nearly five months of battle on Oswego Speedway’s Road to the Championship, Otto Sitterly and Andrew Schartner can stand tall knowing they rose above the rest to score 2014 Oswego Speedway track championships.

A grand total of 74 drivers scored points at Oswego Speedway this season between the Novelis Supermodified and Pathfinder Bank Small Block Super divisions, making the 2014 campaign one of the most competitive in Speedway history.

To see the competitiveness of this year’s field, one would only have to look at the number of different drivers scoring top five finishes this season.

Of the 74 drivers to tally points, an amazing 43 drivers had at least one finish inside of the top five in a feature event.

The Small Block division saw 24 drivers finish in the top five in 2014, with 19 drivers in the Supermodified division tallying an upfront finish.

Even more impressive was the 15 different drivers scoring wins between the two divisions.

Eight drivers scored victories in the Small Block Super division, including four first time winners, with seven different drivers scoring wins in the Supermodified division.

With all of that said, it makes the championship bids by Sitterly and Schartner that much more gratifying.

Sitterly’s championship came over one of the more stout Supermodified fields in many years, with several drivers campaigning brand new racecars.

Despite picking up only one point paying victory all season, coming in the Jim Shampine Memorial in May, Sitterly’s run of ten top five finishes was more than enough to carry him to the title in the John Nicotra Racing No. 7.

That stretch of consistency comes on top of the fact, that as the point leader nearly all season long, Sitterly more than not had to charge through the field from the sixth row in each feature starting lineup.

Not even a mid-season point penalty of 19 markers could slow down Sitterly on his way to a record tying seventh Oswego Speedway Supermodified championship, which he grabbed by 43 points over Dave Gruel.

Sitterly’s title will not only go down in history for tying greats Jim Shampine and Bentley Warren with seven driver titles, but yet another stretch of three consecutive championships is a feat in itself.

Shampine was the first driver to score three consecutive Supermodified championships from 1972-1974.

That accomplishment would not be duplicated until Doug Didero handled the field from 1994-1996 and Mike Muldoon backed it up from 1997-1999.

Sitterly became only the fourth driver to earn the distinction of three consecutive titles from 2008-2010 and now becomes the only driver in history to do it twice with titles from 2012-2014, making for a grand total of seven championships in nine years, dating back to his first in 2006.

Shampine’s stretch of seven titles came over a 12 year period, while Warren’s seven championships were accomplished in an 11 year span.

When all was said and done in 2014 Sitterly’s one championship victory, ten top five finishes, and 11 top ten finishes scored him a total of 1032 points for title number seven, and a sixth owner’s championship for Nicotra.

Gruel, Randy Ritskes, David Danzer, Pat Lavery, Joey Payne, Joe Gosek, Michael Barnes, Tim Devendorf, and Michael Muldoon finished the Supermodified driver’s championship in the top ten with an invitation to walk the stage at the Speedway’s banquet coming up on Saturday, November 1 at the Lake Ontario Event and Conference Center in Oswego.

Schartner’s Small Block Super championship was no doubt impressive in that it was purely dominant over a stellar field of racers during the ’14 campaign.

With back to back wins to start the season in May, Schartner led the championship from start to finish, concluding his year with a third consecutive Race of Champions victory just last weekend putting a cap on his first career championship coming by over 100 points on 2012 champion Kreig Heroth.

Tied for the most wins on the season with Mike Bruce, Schartner’s 11 top five finishes were five more than the next driver, with ten top ten runs outdone only by championship runner-up Heroth.

A previous winner of the Mr. Small Block Supermodified, Tony White Memorial, Race of Champions, and Bud Light SBS Classic, Schartner can finally hang his hat on being an Oswego Speedway track champion in 2014.

Heroth, Anthony Losurdo, Jack Patrick, Jason Simmons, JJ Andrews, Barry Kingsley, Bruce, Danny Abt, and Josh Kerr will join Schartner as the top ten in the driver’s championship, walking the stage at the banquet in November.

For more information on Oswego Speedway visit online at or LIKE on Facebook at or FOLLOW on Twitter @OswegoSpeedway. Those interested in Speedway video programming online can subscribe to the Speedway’s YouTube Channel, ‘OswegoSpeedwayOnline’.

For more information on Race of Champions Weekend visit online at

2014 Oswego Speedway – Novelis – Hoosier Tire – Corr/Pak Merchandising – Supermodified Driver’s Championship (Top Ten):

1.   Otto Sitterly (1) – 1032

2.   Dave Gruel – 989

3.   Randy Ritskes (3) – 969.5

4.   David Danzer (3) – 950

5.   Pat Lavery – 947.5

6.   Joey Payne (1) – 908

7.   Joe Gosek (1) – 900

8.   Michael Barnes (2) – 899.5

9.   Tim Devendorf – 891

10.                Michael Muldoon – 890

11-20. Kody Graham, Brandon Bellinger, Keith Shampine, Stephen Gioia III, Dan Connors Jr., Lou LeVea Sr., Brian Sweeney, Lou LeVea Jr., Tim Snyder, Hal LaTulip


2014 Oswego Speedway – Pathfinder Bank – Hoosier Tire – Corr/pak Merchandising – Small Block Super Driver’s Championship (Top Ten):

1.   Andrew Schartner (3) – 1240

2.   Kreig Heroth (1) – 1133

3.   Anthony Losurdo (2) – 1128.5

4.   Jack Patrick – 1111

5.   Jason Simmons (1) – 1099

6.   JJ Andrews – 1086

7.   Barry Kingsley – 1079.5

8.   Mike Bruce (3) – 1060

9.   Danny Abt – 1053.5

10. Josh Kerr – 1038.5

11-20. Dalton Doyle, Camden Proud, Jon Tesoriero, Jesse Bearup, David LaTulip, Alex Hoag, Rob Pullen, Greg O’Connor, Mike Bond, Cameron Rowe

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *