STSS: Godown Rockets to $8,888 in Short Track Super Series ‘Crazy 8s Special’ Victory

Marshall Gabell Dirt Track Racing, Featured, Northeast 0 Comments

Ryan Godown received a $8,888 check after winning the fourth annual 'Crazy 8s Special' at Afton Fairgrounds. (Steve Sabo photo)

Ryan Godown received a $8,888 check after winning the fourth annual ‘Crazy 8s Special’ at Afton Fairgrounds. (Steve Sabo photo)

AFTON, N.Y. — Bob Hilbert Sportswear Short Track Super Series Velotia South Region veteran Ryan Godown traveled north for the Short Track Super Series Halmar North Region event and scored a large $8,888 check for his Ringoes, N.J. based team.

Godown, who is seventh in the Velotia South standings entering this weekend’s York County Nationals, made the hike up north to Afton Fairgrounds I-88 Speedway on Wednesday for the fourth annual ‘Crazy 8s Special’ — debuting in his first Halmar North Region show this season — and dominated the 48-lap feature.

Along with marking his first-career win in the Halmar North Region, the triumph was also Godown’s first win across both Short Track Super Series tours, through 10 appearances (eight in south region).

Halmar North Region championship contender Andy Bachetti resulted in the second position, his best finish this season in the series. He also, gained ground in points standings after coming into the race fourth in the championship battle.

Making his first Halmar North Region start this season, Shaun Walker concluded the podium on the night, marking his best effort since the 2014 ‘Crazy 8s Special’ show, which he won.

Brett Tonkin and Anthony Perrego closed the top five in the big-block Modified feature.

After winning his respective heat race and drawing first in the redraw, Godown began the event from the pole position — and never looked back.

Despite Bachetti and Matt DeLorenzo suffering flat right-rear tires, drawing two cautions, Godown’s rocket pace was slowed just a few times, allowing the veteran to lead wire-to-wire en route to his first win this season.

Tommy Meier, Rusty Smith, Alan Barker, Jerry Higbie and Jimmy Horton rounded out the top ten in the finishing order.

Championship leader Erick Rudolph started the event second, but struggled with his setup and ended in the 18th position. He will, however, maintain control in the standings as the season rolls into the summer stretch.

Stewart Friesen, who entered the race second in the points, was unable to attend the race, due to having to compete in the rescheduled Super DIRTcar Series race at Autodrome Granby.

He finished second in that race across the border.

Short Track Super Series competitors now turn their attention towards the Velotia South’s event and the big-block Modified’s return to Susquehanna Speedway Park for the York County Nationals on Sunday, July 31.

Keep tuned to Race Chaser Online for more content from the ‘Crazy 8s Special’, including a full points rundown when made available, and live coverage from the York County Nationals this weekend.


RESULTS; Fourth Annual ‘Crazy 8s Special’; Afton Fairgrounds I-88 Speedway; July 27, 2016

Short Track Super Series Small Block/Big Block Modified Feature (48 laps): 1. Ryan Godown; 2. Andy Bachetti; 3. Shaun Walker; 4. Brett Tonkin; 5. Anthony Perrego; 6. Tommy Meier; 7. Rusty Smith; 8. Alan Barker; 9. Jerry Higbie; 10. Jimmy Horton; 11. Craig Hanson; 12. Rich Ricci Jr.; 13. Darwin Greene; 14. Danny Creeden; 15. Nick Roshinski; 16. Colton Wilson; 17. Matt DeLorenzon; 18. Erick Rudolph; 19. Brian Malcolm; 20. Billy VanInwegen; 21. Mitch Gibbs; 22. Mike Ricci; 23. Duane Howard; 24. Nick Nye; 25. Jeff Heotzler; 26. Kurt Decker


About the Writer 

Marshall Gabell is the Mid-Atlantic Correspondent for Race Chaser Online, and was also formerly the public relations director for NASCAR Next member Austin Hill. Gabell is currently attending Stephen Decatur High School in Ocean City, Maryland, completing his sophomore year. He is just 15 years old.

Email Marshall at:

Follow on Twitter: @MarshallGabell

Email Race Chaser Online:

Follow RCO on Twitter: @RaceChaserNews


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.