Seekonk Speedway Saturday: Tom Scully Jr, Dylan Estrella, Mike Cavallaro and Paul Lallier Pick Up Checkers.

RaceChaser Staff Northeast 0 Comments

Sep. 6, 2013 – Seekonk Speedway PR – Tom Scully Jr picked up his second win of the season Saturday at Seekonk, making a three-wide pass under Mike Brightman and Kyle Casper off the second corner. Casper jumped out front for the opening laps with Brightman on his tail as they battled for the lead.

Rick Martin spun on lap 17, bringing out the caution, lining up the move that put Scully into the lead. As they raced off the second corner, Brightman, who was leading at the time. They came off the second corner, Brightman and Casper wheel to wheel. Scully saw an opening on the bottom, and squeezed his Wheelock’s NAPA Auto Group Chevy to the inside and made it a three wide battle for the lead.

The trip raced like that through the front stretch, where Scully was able to move past and take over with 22 laps remaining. Following Scully through was Dick Houlihan, who battled with Brightman for several laps, through a couple of cautions.

Over the last dozen laps, Brightman had his hands full, first with Houly, and then with Fred Astle, who was coming through from his 16th place starting position. Astle moved as a high of third, but fell back with Brightman over the final laps. Ryan Vanasse and Dave Darling moved into third and fourth over the final few laps, relegating Brightman back to fifth.

1) Tom Scully Jr 2) Dick Houlihan 3) Ryan Vanasse 4) Dave Darling 5) Mike Brightman 6) Fred Astle Jr 7) Kenny Spencer 8) Mike Mitchell 9) Kyle Casper 10) Daryl Stampfl 11) Kevin Folan 12) Bob Hussey 13) Billy Joerres 14) Dave Silvia 15) George Kourafas 16) Rick Martin

Dylan Estrella inherited the LM feature win, his third of the season, when apparent winner Dillon Moltz fell to the tech man. Rookie Brandon Dion jumped out over Ryan Lineham to set the early pace. That lead didn’t last long however, as Moltz dove under Dion and wrestled the lead away on lap five.

Once out front, Moltz pulled away and dominated the rest of the event. Estrella moved into second, following Moltz through, and while he could keep pace with the CT native, he couldn’t close in to challenge.

Dion fell back to fourth when Bobby Pelland moved into third at the one-third mark. Dion ran fourth for the majority of the event, until defending LM champion Gerry DeGasparre moved past with less than 5 laps remaining.

1) Dylan Estrella 2) Bobby Pelland III 3) Gerry DeGasparre Jr 4) Brandon Dion 5) Charlie Rose 6) Bill Bernard 7) Dave Hutchins Jr 8) Jeramee Lillie 9) Ryan Lineham 10) Mark Hudson 11) Tyler Thompson DQ) Dillon Moltz

Mike Cavallaro returned to Everett’s Auto Parts Victory Lane, his first after a several week absence for a broken arm. Lenny Guy took over the lead on the opening laps over Nick Uhrig. Guy set the pace until Cavallaro, who started ninth, moved around the New Bedford native just shy of the halfway point.

Rick Martin moved into second at lap 14, and closed in the gap to Cavallaro. Over the final several laps, Cavallaro and Martin battle for the lead, with Martin trying the inside and the outside. The five time Truck Champion would have none of it, and held Martin off by .180 seconds. John Paiva took over third with ten laps remaining, and held onto his points lead with two events remaining. Uhrig and Guy finished fourth and fifth.

1) Mike Cavallaro 2) Rick Martin 3) John Paiva 4) Nick Uhrig 5) Lenny Guy 6) Darryl Church 7) Branden Dion 8) Mike Duarte 9) Chase Belcher 10) Taylor Therrien 11) Anna Gregoire 12) Rob Murphy 13) Joey Wakefield 14) Bill Schoeler 15) Russ Borges 16) Jim Hawkins 17) Rob Rainville 18) Scott Dion19) Billy Clarke 20) Dan Leach

Paul Lallier picked up his division leading fourth win of the season. The defending Street Stock champion started seventh, and was running third when Ray Negley and Crystal Serydynski got together while battling for the lead.

Bob Bettencourt Jr restarted second, but fell back to third when Jon Hanafin moved into the runner up position following the restart. Manny Dias moved into third as Bettencourt slid back on the outside. With just one lap remaining, Dias spun, allowing new Street Stock points leader Scott Bruneau into third. Bettencourt and Ed Gannon rounded out the top five.

1) Paul Lallier 2) Jon Hanafin 3) Scott Bruneau 4) Bob Bettencourt Jr 5) Ed Gannon III 6) Gerard Berthelette 7) Manny Dias 8) Scott Serydynski 9) Andy Johnson 10) Chris DeMoura 11) Jimmy Belmont 12) Austin Blais 13) Craig Pianka 14) Doug Rioux 15) Al McNeal 16) Tom Murray 17) Ray Negley 18) Crystal Serydynski 19) Randy Moretti 20) Ian Savard 21) David Smith 22) Ray Lovelace

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *