RoC ASPHALT MODS: Hossfeld Stops Hirschman to Triumph at Shangri-La II

RaceChaser Staff Asphalt Modifieds, Northeast 0 Comments

TIOGA CENTER, N.Y. – official release — Chuck Hossfeld held off a late challenge from Matt Hirschman to win Sunday’s Race of Champions Asphalt Modified Tour race held at Shangri-La II Motor Speedway.

Hossfeld started from the pole after the redraw and was able to hold down the lead as the green flag waved. He soon found himself fending off challenges from Andy Jankowiak and Mike Leaty. The duo locked up in a nose to tail draft and still could not get along side of Hossfeld to force him to give up his line.

A quick caution for a spin reset the field and Hossfeld was able to fend off a challenge from Jankowiak on the restart, but now had to deal with Leaty hanging on to his rear bumper. This challenge was short lived as another caution flew on lap 24 as contact was made in turn three between Jim Storace and Patrick Emerling.

The next 36 laps went green with Hossfeld distancing himself from his challengers by nearly one second. Jankowiak and Jimmy Zacharias were in pursuit of Hossfeld, but Zacharias had to find a way around Jankowiak. Two cautions flew on lap 61, the first for Erick Rudolph as his car came to a stop down low coming off turn four.

The race restarted, but caution flew before the lap was completed for the Zacharias ride after he came to a stop in turn three. Zacharias and Rudolph would retire from the race. The restart saw Hirschman move up from sixth to third due to the attrition. He immediately went to work on Jankowiak, wrestling the spot away, and then went on the hunt for Hossfeld. Hossfeld was a bit better getting off turn four and would hold on for his second RoC win of the year. The win was Hossfeld’s second career win at Shangri-La II.

Hirschman finished second, Jankowiak was third, Emerling and Leaty completed the top five.

Steve Shultz (street stocks) and Gene Purvis (four-cylinder stocks) were also winners Sunday.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *