OSWEGO: International Classic Qualifying Trail Underway

RaceChaser Staff Featured, Midwest, Northeast, Sprints & Midgets, Supermodifieds 0 Comments

OSWEGO, NY — official release — Mike Johnson photo — The Budweiser International Classic 200 qualifying trail is underway with season opening events now completed on the Midwest Supermodified Association schedule and at Oswego Speedway.

For the first time since 2007, Oswego Speedway will award guaranteed starting positions to the top drivers in the Midwest Supermodified Association, the International Supermodified Association, the Novelis Supermodified division at the Speedway, and Oswego’s top Pathfinder Bank Small Block Super driver.

The top two drivers in MSA, ISMA, and Oswego Supermodified points as of July 1 will be guaranteed to start the Budweiser International Classic 200 on August 31.  Added to that group will be the leading driver in Oswego’s Small Block Super division as of July 1 making for a total of seven guaranteed driver positions in the 200.

Selected guaranteed starters must time trial for the International Classic and be within .4 of a second of the 28th fastest time trailer in order to be added to the field without competing in the Bud Light B-Main.

Currently the MSA’s guaranteed drivers are North Ridgeville, OH driver Dave Shullick Jr., and Jim Paller of Berlin Heights, OH.

Shullick dominated the opening event of the MSA season at Sandusky Speedway on May 10 beating out Paller, Jon Henes, Kyle Edwards, and Trent Stephens for the win.  Shullick, who will be in action at Oswego Speedway in the Jim Shampine Memorial 75 on May 24, will be piloting a John Nicotra Novelis Supermodified for the International Classic in late August.

Paller, who frequents Oswego Speedway in winged Supermodified action, currently holds a guaranteed spot in the Classic worth $1,000 should he hang onto a top two position in the MSA standings behind the wheel of his No. 64 machine.

Oswego Speedway’s current guaranteed starters are three-time Classic champion Otto Sitterly and Oswego Kickoff champion David Danzer.  Danzer and Sitterly finished first and second in the 53rd annual Novelis Supermodified Kickoff on May 10 at the Speedway, and currently lead the Speedway’s Road to the Championship standings.

Joining Sitterly and Danzer as current guaranteed Classic starters from Oswego Speedway is Pathfinder Bank Small Block Super shoe Andrew Schartner of Charlotte, NC.  Schartner muscled his way by Jon Tesoriero to claim the opening win of the SBS season last Saturday and with it claims the current point lead and a guaranteed spot.

The ISMA Supermodified season does not open now until Saturday, June 7 at Oswego Speedway.

The Memorial Day Weekend Triple Header Special at Oswego Speedway is presented by RJ Caruso Tax & Accounting and A&P Auto Parts of Cicero and will feature the Jim Shampine Memorial for Novelis Supermodifieds, the Richie Evans Memorial for the RoC Modifieds and the Tony White Memorial for the Pathfinder Bank Small Block Supers.

Grandstand gates will open at 2 p.m. on May 24 with racing to begin at 5 p.m.  To purchase tickets for Oswego Speedway’s Memorial Day Weekend Triple Header call the Speedway box office at (315) 342-0646.  General admission seating is available for $25, with reserved seating on sale for $30, and VIP tower seating with all you can eat food and drink for $90.

Once again in 2014, kids 16 & under will be admitted free of charge with a paid adult with active military also admitted free with I.D.  For more information on Oswego Speedway visit online at www.oswegospeedway.com, follow on Twitter @OswegoSpeedway, or like on Facebook atfacebook.com/OswegoSpeedway.

Budweiser International Classic 200 Qualifying Trail – Current Guaranteed Starters

Oswego Speedway Supermodifieds: Otto Sitterly, David Danzer

Midwest Supermodified Association: Dave Shullick Jr., Jim Paller

International Supermodified Association: N/A

Oswego Speedway Small Block Super: Andrew Schartner

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.