NWMT/NWSMT: Whelen Signs Sponsorship Deal for Modified All-Star Shootout

RaceChaser Staff Asphalt Modifieds, Featured, NASCAR, Northeast, Southeast 0 Comments

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. – official release — NASCAR photo — Whelen Engineering has signed on as the race entitlement sponsor for the invitation-only, special event featuring current and past champions from NASCAR’s modified tours in a non-stop, 40–lap shootout at New Hampshire Motor Speedway on July 11.

“We are extremely excited about this unique, all-out run to the checkers at New Hampshire Motor Speedway,” said Whelen Engineering Vice President of Motorsports Phil Kurze. “Some of the best NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour racing has occurred at Loudon through the years, and in July fans will be able to witness two days of the most exciting, bumper-to-bumper modified racing around.”

The race procedures announced for the Whelen All-Star Shootout are as follows:

• The Whelen All-Star Shootout will be a 40-lap event, which will run in two 20-lap segments.

• The field will be capped at 20 drivers, and championship points will not be awarded for the event.

• The starting lineup for the first segment will be determined by random draw; before the second segment begins, a minimum of four and maximum of ten positions in the running order will be inverted.

• After the first segment, a competition caution period will be used to re-set the field, and laps completed during the competition caution will not count toward the race total. Planned pit stops will not be allowed during the race, and there is a time limit for completion if needed.

The eligibility requirements for the Whelen All-Star Shootout have also been established:

• Current and past champions of the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour and NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour are eligible for one of the 20 starting positions until all are filled.

• The 2013 NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour and NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour Sunoco Rookies of the Year are allotted starting positions.

• Any remaining positions will be filled by drivers with the most race wins in NASCAR’s modified tours from the start of the 2005 seasons through the race entry deadline of June 20, 2014.

• Tiebreakers and additional eligibility requirements, if necessary, are outlined in the event’s Official Entry Blank.

Additionally, NASCAR announced that the Whelen All-Star Shootout will be televised by FOX Sports, with details for the telecast to be provided at a later date.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *