NWMT: Stars Coming Out; New Hampshire Motor Speedway All-Star Shootout Set For Friday

Kyle Souza Asphalt Modifieds, Featured, NASCAR, New England, Northeast, Racing Nation, Touring Series 0 Comments

LOUDON, N.H. — Story by Race Chaser Online New England Correspondent Kyle Souza — Getty Images for NASCAR photo —

The stars of the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour will be out in full force on Friday afternoon for what is expected to be one of the best races of the weekend at New Hampshire Motor Speedway.

The second annual “All-Star Shootout” is slated to take the green flag at 2:10 p.m and will showcase twenty of the top modified drivers across both the NASCAR Whelen Modified Northern and Southern tours.

Leading the list of North entries includes the top three in the current driver’s point standings. Doug Coby, Ryan Preece and Woody Pitkat will all be in action looking to carry the first of two trophies up for grabs on the weekend.

Leading the Southern invasion includes Hampstead, New Hampshire native Andy Suess, who has never one before at the Magic Mile.

Current Race of Champions championship points front-runner Patrick Emerling and NASCAR Sprint Cup Series standout Ryan Newman are also among the list of expected drivers.

Our Motorsports will field two rides on Friday. One will be driven by Keith Rocco, who drives for the team regularly, and the other will be fielded by Todd Szegedy, in a one-race deal.

The event will be a non-points spectacular, with 35 laps of racing to completed in a 30 minute time limit. NASCAR officials will throw a competition caution on or around lap 20 on Friday afternoon.

Fans have raised question about where drivers will start during the shootout event, however, a series release points to a random draw by the drivers following the drivers meeting at Loudon on Friday morning.

NASCAR officials have also mentioned that pit road will be closed for the entire 35 lap feature. Ryan Newman won the inaugural event in 2014, holding off Justin Bonsignore and Mike Stefanik in a race that was shortened by three laps due to a crash.

The race will be shown on NBC Sports Network as part of a tape delay program on Thursday July 23 at 4:30 p.m.

For more information, fans can visit www.nascarhometracks.com.

Entry List; NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour All-Star Shootout July 17

  1. 2 — Doug Coby
  2. 6 — Ryan Preece
  3. 07 — Patrick Emerling
  4. 7 — Ryan Newman
  5. 8 — Donny Lia
  6. 13 — Ted Christopher
  7. 15 — Ron Silk
  8. 16 — Timmy Solomito
  9. 18 — Ken Heagy
  10. 22 — Keith Rocco
  11. 23 — Todd Szegedy
  12. 37 — Dave Salzarulo
  13. 44 — Bobby Santos III
  14. 51 — Justin Bonsignore
  15. 58 — Eric Goodale
  16. 70 — Andy Suess
  17. 77 — Gary Putnam
  18. 88 — Woody Pitkat
  19. 93 — Rowan Pennink
  20. 99 — Jamie Tomaino

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.