NWMT PRACTICE: Lia Tops Speedbowl Chart; Fastest In Whelen Modified Mr. Rooter 161 Session

RaceChaser Staff Asphalt Modifieds, Northeast, Touring Series 0 Comments

WATERFORD, Conn. – official series release by Jason Cunningham, NASCAR — Tim Bradbury/Getty Images for NASCAR photo —

The only two-time New London-Waterford Speedbowl winner in tonight’s Mr. Rooter 161 field has a fast start on attaining win No. 3.

Donny Lia posted a fast lap of 14.031 seconds (96.216 mph) around the venerable .375-mile oval in his No. 8 Sypher Construction/Bardahl Chevrolet to top the 33-car NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour field Saturday evening.

Lia’s previous wins at the Speedbowl came in 2005 and 2006 in his family-owned car.

Keith Rocco, newly minted as the all-time winningest driver in Speedbowl history with two NASCAR Whelen All-American Series triumphs last week, finished second on the speed chart at 14.053 (96.065) while reigning tour titlist Doug Coby was third-fastest at 14.099 (95.751).

Defending Mr. Rooter 161 winner Bobby Santos, Woody Pitkat, Eric Goodale, Todd Szegedy, Derek Ramstrom, Jon McKennedy and Dave Sapienza brought home the top 10.

Coors Light Pole qualifying is slated for 6:30 p.m. and the Mr. Rooter 161 will get the green at approximately 9 p.m.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.