NWAAS: Round One Done; Seekonk Saturday Divisions Head For Triple Crown Series Round Two

Kyle Souza NASCAR, New England, Northeast, Other Late Models, Stock Cars, Street Stocks, Touring Series 0 Comments

SEEKONK, Mass. — Story by Race Chaser Online New England Correspondent Kyle Souza — Seekonk Speedway photo —

Round one of three for the Phil’s Propane Triple Crown Series is now into the record books for all of the Seekonk Speedway Saturday night divisions.

With the new format in 2015, the first race could prove crucial in deciding who will be the champion for the Phil’s Propane Triple Crown Series.

So far, each of the Saturday divisions have competed in one of their Triple Crown races and we saw no lack of excitement in each division. In fact, some of the best races of the season thus far came in the extra distance affairs.


In the Sports Trucks, John Paiva proved dominant in the 35 lap Triple Crown event. He took the lead from David Lougee just before the halfway point and held off a challenge from Chase Belcher and Rob Murphy to grab the checkered flag back on May 30.

Paiva comes into round two the leader in the group of the “Lucky 7,” which is as follows:

  1. John Paiva — 108 pts
  2. Mike Cavallaro — 102 pts
  3. Chase Belcher — 100 pts
  4. Rob Murphy — 96 pts
  5. David Lougee — 94 pts
  6. Lenny Guy — 82 pts
  7. Dan Johnson –80 pts

Unfortunately for Paiva, he has been suspended by race control for this week, leaving the door wide-open for someone else to take advantage and grab the lead going into the final round.

Will someone take a Sports Truck win that is not in the Lucky 7 and lock themselves into the finale? Does Murphy get back to Victory Lane? We will find out on Saturday July 11 in the 35 lap feature event.


In the Late Models, Charlie Rose Jr. used a late-race outside move to power by Bobby Pelland III to take the checkers in round one of their Phil’s Propane Triple Crown Series.

Rose, a one-time winner this season, has been among the fastest cars in the Late Models right since the first green flag in May. He will come into round two with the Triple Crown and overall driver standings points lead if he continues on this path.

Since Ryan Vanasse scored more heat points then Rose on the night the 50 lapper took place, he leads the Lucky 7 into race two on July 11.

  1. Ryan Vanasse — 104 pts
  2. Charlie Rose Jr. — 100 pts
  3. Dylan Estrella — 98 pts
  4. Bobby Pelland III — 92 pts
  5. Vinny Arrenegado — 88 pts
  6. Nick Johnson — 84 pts
  7. Nick Uring — 80 pts

So… Does DeGaspere Jr. grab the win and propel himself to round two? Does Vanasse keep his advantage and lock himself in? We will find out in race two for the Division II Late Model class.


The Street Stocks have a tie up top the Triple Crown standings heading into round three. Right now, Steve Potter, winner of round one, and defending champion John Hanafin have 106 points. Both drivers have plenty of experience and fast cars trying to get the job done.

Some big names sit outside the top seven heading into the next round.. Knowing they have to win to move on! Scott Bruneau? Craig Pianka? Can someone take the victory and advance?

The Lucky 7 for the Street Stocks after round one:

  1. Steve Potter — 106 pts
  2. John Hanafin — 106 pts
  3. Vinny Pangelinan — 100 pts
  4. Paul Lallier — 98 pts
  5. Rey Lovelace — 88 pts
  6. Manuel Dias — 88 pts
  7. Tyler Lallier — 82 pts


In the Pro Stocks, Tom Scully Jr. rides a wave of momentum after scoring the win in an eventful round one. Scully Jr. started from mid-pack and avoided a ton of crashes on his way to the front including a dust-up between Ryan Lineham and Freddy Astle for the lead.

Now, Scully Jr. comes into round two with all the points on his side. Ryan Vanasse comes in a strong second after battling hard over the final laps. Can Kyle Casper make some noise in round two? Casper took his No. 7 Bay State Sewage Disposal machine to a third in round one and will surely be a factor at winning the overall Triple Crown Title.

The Lucky 7 for the Pro Stocks includes:

  1. Tom Scully Jr. — 106 pts
  2. Ryan Vanasse — 104 pts
  3. Craig Weinstein — 98 pts
  4. Kyle Casper — 92 pts
  5. Rick Martin — 88 pts
  6. Dick Houlihan — 84 pts
  7. Kevin Folan –80 pts

Come on out and see some of the best racing when the Triple Crown Series hits the Action Track for round two.

For more information, including the updated schedule for the Triple Crown Series, visit www.seekonkspeedway.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.