NSCS: Continued Dominance; Jimmie Johnson Tackles Monster Mile for 10th Career Dover Victory

Kyle Souza Featured, MidSouth, NASCAR, Northeast 0 Comments

DOVER, Del. — Recap by Race Chaser Online Managing Editor Jacob Seelman and New England Correspondent Kyle Souza — NASCAR via Getty Images photo —

Jimmie Johnson spent his morning on Sunday meeting a young, ecstatic fan during driver introductions.

He spent the final restart of Sunday’s FedEx 400 benefiting Autism Speaks at Dover International Speedway driving away from the field and leaving them in the dust.

Johnson took the lead for the final time from Kevin Harvick on a restart with 18 laps remaining, then held off the challenges of Kasey Kahne and Harvick on two separate late-race restarts to grab the checkered flag.

The win was his fourth of the 2015 season and his 10th career at Dover — the most by one driver all-time at Dover.  He joined NASCAR Hall of Famers Richard Petty, Darrell Waltrip and David Pearson as the only drivers in history to grab double-digit wins at a track.

Johnson’s crew chief Chad Knaus made a gutsy call to keep the No. 48 Lowe’s Chevrolet on the track on a caution flag with 20 laps remaining — and it payed off in the end. “The 4 and I did just fine on old tires,” Johnson said while celebrating on Sunday.

Though Johnson was able to take the victory, he did not do the bulk of his leading until the final stages. Martin Truex Jr. lead the most laps for the second straight week, but never really got the handling on his No. 78 Furniture Row Chevrolet when it mattered most.

Following behind Johnson at the checkers was Kevin Harvick, who also elected not to pit on one of the final restarts of the event. Sophomore Sprint Cup Series driver Kyle Larson finished third, Johnson’s Hendrick Motorsports teammate Kasey Kahne finished fourth and Aric Armirola finished fifth.

Truex Jr. was forced to settle for sixth on Sunday, holding off Jamie McMurray coming to the start/finish line. Paul Menard, Clint Bowyer and Jeff Gordon completed the top ten spots.

The event also saw a late caution flag that took out pole sitter Denny Hamlin, after he and Clint Bowyer made contact on the exit of turn two. Kurt Busch was also collected in the incident, slamming the turn three wall and ending his chances for a good finish.

The NASCAR Sprint Cup Series will return to the track next Sunday afternoon at Pocono International Raceway. Coverage is scheduled to begin at 11:30 AM on Fox Sports 1.

Race Results:

  1. Jimmie Johnson
  2. Kevin Harvick
  3. Kyle Larson
  4. Kasey Kahne
  5. Aric Armirola
  6. Martin Truex Jr.
  7. Jamie McMurray
  8. Paul Menard
  9. Clint Bowyer
  10. Jeff Gordon
  11. Joey Logano
  12. Brad Keslowski
  13. David Ragan
  14. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  15. Danica Patrick
  16. Tony Stewart
  17. Greg Biffle
  18. Ryan Newman
  19. Carl Edwards
  20. Alex Bowman
  21. Denny Hamlin
  22. Sam Hornish Jr.
  23. Landon Cassil
  24. AJ Allmendinger
  25. David Gilliland
  26. Cole Whitt
  27. Casey Mears
  28. Brett Moffitt
  29. J.J. Yeley
  30. Jeb Burton
  31. Kurt Busch
  32. Matt DiBenedetto
  33. Austin Dillon
  34. Brendan Gaughan
  35. Mike Bliss
  36. Kyle Busch
  37. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  38. Brian Scott
  39. Matt Kenseth
  40. Josh Wise
  41. Michael Annett
  42. Justin Allgaier
  43. Trevor Bayne

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.