NSCS: Carl Edwards Leads Joe Gibbs 1-2-3 In First Saturday Practice at Loudon

Kyle Souza Featured, NASCAR, New England, Northeast 0 Comments


(Jonathan Moore/Getty Images North America photo)


Joe Gibbs Racing driver Carl Edwards paced the first of two practice sessions at New Hampshire Motor Speedway for the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series on Saturday morning.

Edwards, behind the wheel of the No. 19 Arris Toyota, posted a fast time of 28.974 seconds (131.456 mph) around the one-mile NHMS oval. He was followed by teammates Denny Hamlin (29.012 seconds/131.284 mph) and Matt Kenseth (29.032 seconds/131.193 mph), who completed a Joe Gibbs top three sweep of practice.

Kenseth is the most recent Sprint Cup Series winner at New Hampshire, scoring the win in the Sylvania 300 last September in the Chase for the Championship stretch. Stewart-Haas Racing driver Kevin Harvick was fourth (29.094 seconds/130.914 mph) and rounding out the top-five was Hendrick Motorsports driver Chase Elliott (29.107 seconds/130.855 mph).

Former NHMS winner Kasey Kahne posted a fast lap good enough for sixth, while defending champion Kyle Busch was seventh. Brad Keselowski, Kurt Busch and Kyle Larson rounded out the top-10.

Alex Bowman, sitting in the seat for Dale Earnhardt Jr. this weekend who is out with concussion like symptoms, was 24th behind the wheel of the No. 88 Nationwide Chevrolet for Hendrick Motorsports. It was announced on Friday that Jeff Gordon would drive the No. 88 at Indy next weekend IF Dale Jr. is not able to compete.

Sprint Cup Series teams will return to the track at 12:30 p.m. for another practice round, the final of the weekend before tomorrow’s New Hampshire 300 (1 p.m., NBCSN, PRN, SirusXM NASCAR Radio).


RESULTS: NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Practice No. 2; New Hampshire Motor Speedway; July 16, 2016

  1. Carl Edwards
  2. Denny Hamlin
  3. Matt Kenseth
  4. Kevin Harvick
  5. Chase Elliott
  6. Kasey Kahne
  7. Kyle Busch
  8. Brad Keselowski
  9. Kurt Busch
  10. Kyle Larson
  11. Martin Truex Jr.
  12. Joey Logano
  13. Jamie McMurray
  14. Jimmie Johnson
  15. Greg Biffle
  16. Tony Stewart
  17. Paul Menard
  18. Ryan Newman
  19. AJ Allmendinger
  20. Ryan Blaney
  21. Aric Almirola
  22. Casey Mears
  23. Austin Dillon
  24. Alex Bowman
  25. Landon Cassill
  26. Brian Scott
  27. David Ragan
  28. Trevor Bayne
  29. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  30. Clint Bowyer
  31. Matt DiBenedetto
  32. Michael McDowell
  33. Danica Patrick
  34. Chris Buescher
  35. Reed Sorenson
  36. Regan Smith
  37. Michael Annett
  38. Eddie MacDonald
  39. Josh Wise
  40. Ryan Ellis


About the Writer

Kyle Souza is an aspiring Journalism major at the Roger Williams University in Bristol, R.I.  Souza is Race Chaser Online’s New England motorsports insider, covering everything from the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour to the NASCAR Whelen All American Series and the PASS North Super Late Models.

When not writing, Souza works at the Seekonk Speedway as the track’s Friday night public address announcer and press writer, and is also the Media Director for both the Granite State Pro Stock Series and the Tri Track Open Modified Series.

Email Kyle at: kylesouza34@gmail.com

Follow on Twitter: @Kouza34

Email Race Chaser Online: news@racechaseronline.com

Follow RCO on Twitter: @RaceChaserNews

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.