NORTHEAST: PA’s Evergreen Raceway Holds Snowball Enduros; First Event Under New Management

RaceChaser Staff Featured, Northeast 0 Comments

ST. JOHNS, Pa. — official track release — Evergreen Raceway Facebook page photo —

The 2016 race season at Evergreen Raceway in St. Johns, PA officially kicked off Saturday afternoon.

It was an inaugural show of sorts, with Jason Makarewicz as the new track lease holder and track manager. The show was anticipated by many drivers and fans to be a great start to a new era, yet no one knew exactly how popular the show would become. When it was all said and done, Ed Brown, Jr. claimed the 6-8Cylinder Enduro victory and Luke Colleran took top honors in the 4-Cylinder division. Scott Adams cruised to victory in the 25-lap Open Competitions show.

Approximately forty 6/8-Cylinder Enduro cars started the 100-lap event. Brown started second and took the top spot from TJ Kapish before a lap was scored. Anthony Pizzo moved in on the leader and then had his turn at the point until lap nine, when Woot Lawrence took command.

Lawrence’s lead was short lived, as he was forced to pit with issues. That handed the lead back to Brown but Pizzo remained to stay glued to the rear bumper of the leader. Eventually, Pizzo regained the lead.

With just over a quarter of the race left, the top two made some contact, which slowed Pizzo. Brown jumped back to the lead and never looked back, taking the $500 victory over Pizzo, Drew Fohrkolb, Elliot Wohl and Brian Halecki.

With the largest car count since 2005, ninety Four Cylinders took to the track for 100-laps of action. Devin Schmidt started from the pole position and set the pace early on. Several red flags waved in the early stages and inoperable vehicles remained on the speedway to slow the pace of the event. Gibson lost the momentarily near lap ten and then retook the position.

Mike Mujice, Jr. moved to the point and appeared the car to beat, but Colleran climbed into second.

Trouble struck Mujice on lap 50, when he was involved in an incident. That gave the lead back to Colleran, who pulled off the victory over Joe Warren, Wayne Brenize, Joe Mooney and last place starter, Jeff Ackerman.

The Open Comp cars took to the track for the final show of the afternoon, which was cut to 25-laps. The field was well-represented with a mix of eight and four cylinder race cars.

Harry O’Neill started from the pole and was challenged by Gerry Koenig for the lead. Koenig’s attempt was unsuccessful on the damp surface and Adams got by for second.

The top two raced side by side and with 14 laps complete, a lapped car got into O’Neill. That gave the lead to Adams, who cruised to the win over Lee Allen, O’Neill, Koenig and Scott Riggleman.

The events held that day were held to honor and memorialize Donny Holland, who was a long time competitor in many divisions at Evergreen Raceway for years.

Due to a few scoring hiccups, only the top ten finishers in each division are shown in the race results. The full field rundown is listed on the track Facebook Page. This issue is number one priority and will be corrected prior to the next event.

The 2016 season schedule will be released in a short period of time, as will the divisional purses. For more information regarding Evergreen Raceway, including regular divisional rules and procedures, please visit

CREDIT: Evergreen Raceway

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.