NCWTS: Erik Jones Puts Dent in Tagliani’s Perfect Weekend; Runs Fastest in Truck Series Happy Hour at CTMP

Kyle Magda NASCAR, Northeast 0 Comments

BOWMANVILLE, Ont. — Report by Race Chaser Online Associate Editor Kyle Magda — Gregory Shamus/Getty Images North America photo —

Every time the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series goes to a track, expect Erik Jones to be fast.

That trend continued on Saturday north of the border.

After Alex Tagliani nearly put seven tenths of a second on the field in first practice at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park, 18-year-old Jones put the No. 4 truck to the top of the leaderboard in Saturday afternoon’s final practice session.

The Kyle Busch Motorsports driver turned a lap of 80.159 seconds (110.436 mph) which was good enough to beat Tagliani’s runner-up speed of 110.364 mph.

Jones’ fast time in Happy Hour is better than the track qualifying record set by Tagliani last year, a record that may fall when qualifying rolls around at 5:45 p.m. ET.

Tagliani’s countryman, ThorSport Racing rookie Cameron Hayley, was third quick at 80.277 seconds (110.273 mph) and one of six drivers to go over 110 mph on their fastest practice lap. All three ThorSport trucks cracked the top-six, with Hayley being the quickest of the bunch in his No. 13 Cabinets by Hayley Toyota.

Ben Kennedy put up top-five times in both sessions Saturday while being fourth quick in first practice and dropping one spot to fifth in the final session.

The driver to lead the Chevrolet camp was Cole Custer in sixth in his first NASCAR road-course start since running the K&N Pro Series East race three weeks ago at Watkins Glen International. Another 17-year-old followed Custer with Gray Gaulding in eighth, then Timothy Peters and Tyler Reddick rounded out the top-10.

Next up is Keystone Light Pole Qualifying at 5:45 p.m. ET Saturday and will be shown live on FOX Sports 2.


RESULTS: NASCAR Camping World Truck Series; First Practice; Canadian Tire Motorsport Park; August 29, 2015

  1. Erik Jones
  2. Alex Tagliani
  3. Cameron Hayley
  4. Johnny Sauter
  5. Ben Kennedy
  6. Matt Crafton
  7. Cole Custer
  8. Gray Gaulding
  9. Timothy Peters
  10. Tyler Reddick
  11. Daniel Hemric
  12. Spencer Gallagher
  13. John Hunter Nemechek
  14. Brandon Jones
  15. Matt Tifft
  16. Tyler Young
  17. Brian Wong
  18. Robert Mitten
  19. John Wes Townley
  20. Mason Mingus
  21. Daniel Brown
  22. T.J. Bell
  23. Ray Black Jr.
  24. Jordan Anderson
  25. Korbin Forrister
  26. BJ McLeod
  27. Jennifer Jo Cobb
  28. Travis Kvapil
  29. Norm Benning
  30. Josh Reaume

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.