NCWTS: Still On Top; Timothy Peters Paces Opening Truck Practice At Martinsville

Kyle Souza Featured, MidSouth, NASCAR, Northeast, Racing Nation 0 Comments

MARTINSVILLE, Va. — Story by Race Chaser Online New England Correspondent Kyle Souza — Getty Images photo —

Timothy Peters came off his big win at Talladega last weekend with a ride of momentum heading into Martinsville.

He took that momentum, wrapped it all up, and took it out on the “paperclip,” leading the way in the opening NASCAR Camping World Truck Series practice session Friday at Martinsville Speedway. Peters posted a lap of 19.721 seconds (96.020 mph) in his No. 17 Red Horse Racing Toyota Tundra. He started seventh and won the 2012 race at the short track.

Defending series champion Matt Crafton posted a lap good enough for second spot at 19.776 seconds (95.752 mph), as he looks to rebound after crashing late in the action at Talladega last weekend.

Youngster Cameron Hayley, driving the Carolina Nut Company No. 13 Toyota was third fastest on the leaderboard with a lap of 19.805 seconds (95.612 mph).

Spencer Gallagher was fourth fastest on Friday with his fastest time at 19.887 seconds (95.218 mph),, while Brandon Jones, driver of the No. 33 Lucas Oil Chevrolet, was fifth quickest on the speed charts with a lap of 19.890 seconds (94.775 mph).

Former Martinsville winner Johnny Sauter was sixth quickest, with Daniel Hemric seventh and Daniel Suarez eighth.

Ross Kenseth, making his debut in the Camping World Truck Series this weekend with Joe Gibbs Racing, was ninth on the speed charts in his first ever practice session.

JR Motorsports driver Cole Custer completed the top ten, with his lap of 20.117 seconds (94.129 mph). Truck points leader Erik Jones was 13th in the opening session, with second place points driver Tyler Reddick 17th.

The NASCAR Camping World Truck Series will next hit the track for final practice, live at 2:30 p.m., live on Fox Sports 1.

RESULTS; NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Practice; Martinsville Speedway; October 30, 2015:

  1. Timothy Peters
  2. Matt Crafton
  3. Cameron Hayley
  4. Spencer Gallagher
  5. Brandon Jones
  6. Johnny Sauter
  7. Daniel Hemric
  8. Daniel Suarez
  9. Ross Kenseth
  10. Cole Custer
  11. Ben Kennedy
  12. Erik Jones
  13. Gray Gaulding
  14. Tyler Young
  15. John Wes Townley
  16. Dalton Sargeant
  17. Tyler Reddick
  18. John Hunter Nemechek
  19. Caleb Holman
  20. Mason Mingus
  21. Austin Cindric
  22. J.J. Hayley
  23. David Gilliland
  24. Travis Kvapil
  25. Ray Black Jr.
  26. Brandon Brown
  27. Timmy Hill
  28. Norm Benning
  29. Austin Hill
  30. Bobby Pierce
  31. Brad Foy
  32. Brandon Hightower
  33. Paige Decker
  34. Jim Weiler
  35. Jennifer Jo Cobb
  36. Charles Buchanan Jr.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.