LEBANON VALLEY: Kyle Armstrong Scores First Career Dirt Modified Win

RaceChaser Staff Asphalt Modifieds, Dirt Modifieds, Dirt Track Racing, Featured, Northeast, Racing Nation, Sprints & Midgets, Super DIRTcar Series 0 Comments

WEST LEBANON, NY — official release — Dirt Track Digest photo — The famed 1/2 mile dirt oval known as the Valley of Speed at Lebanon Valley was jam packed full of racing action this past Saturday night.

Young Gun Kyle Armstrong put his name in the history books by scoring his first career Big Block Modified win.  The Small Blocks saw Tyler Dippel take the checkered, but Frank Hoard III credited with the win after post-race inspection.

The points battle in the Big Block Modifieds is coming down to each and every point earned between J.R. Heffner and Brett Hearn with only 2 point races left.  At the drop of the green of their 30 lap feature, the 11A of young gun Kyle Armstrong powered out to the early lead over veteran Mike King’s 55K.

As the laps wore on the attention was on the charging cars of the 74 of Heffner and the 20H of Hearn. In the closing laps however, Hearn got the best of Heffner and charged to 3rd, while Heffner had to settle for 5th.

But for Armstrong, that all didn’t matter, as he had the field in hand, and scored his first career Big Block Modified feature win.  With the win, he also received the J.C. Flach $500 bonus given to first time winners.

In the Small Blocks, the 13 of Frank Hoard III charged out to the lead early in the 20 lap feature event. The caution flew early though as the 21 of Ryan Darcy made contact with the turn 3 wall, ending his night early.

Then it was back to racing, and Hoard was strong, but Tyler Dippel, aboard his 1T was charging, and he was strong enough to take over the lead by lap 8, and waked away from the field.

Apparently his ride was too strong, as his crossed the finish line first, but was later DQ’d in post-race inspection, handing the victory to the 13 of Hoard.  Olden Dwyer finished 2nd, followed by Wayne Jelley, Jason Herrington and Chad Jeseo to round out the top 5 finishers.

In the full-fendered Pro Stock division, Rick Duzlak brought the field to the green for their 20 lap feature event.  But his lead was short lived as the 23 of Chuck Towslee powered to the front of the class by lap 3.

Cautions plagued the event again, keeping the field tight to Towslee’s rear bumper.  But as the laps wore on, he had the car to beat.  And at the checkers, no one had enough to get by, so Towslee scored the win.

Rob Yetman had to settle for 2nd, followed by Robbie Speed, Nick Hilt, and Jon Routhier to round out the top 5 finishers.

Earlier on the night, the Purestocks had their feature events, and the winners were; Jason Meltz in Purestock 1.  Purestock 2 was captured by David Olds, while in Purestock 3, Ed Hatch battled to the win.

And in the 4 Cylinder feature, Victoria Boyles scored the win in the Single Cam division, while Chris Vandeputte scored the win in Dual Cam.

Hang on to your seats, as the points battle will come down to one last night of racing for the Big Block Modifieds and Pro Stocks presented by All Star Tractor Trailer Training and Anderson Equipment thisSaturday August 30th.

No Small Blocks, but the Budget Sportsman will be on tap for their make up race from the rain out on the night of Mr DIRT.  Plus there is also the special 11th Annual Boomer’s Performance 20 Lap Purestock Classic.

For more information, remaining schedule of events, or the current point standings visit our website atwww.LebanonValley.com and click on ‘Speedway’.


Benjamin Moore Paints Big Block Modified Feature (30 Laps): 1)Kyle Armstrong, 2)Matt Pupello, 3)Brett Hearn, 4)Brian Berger, 5)J.R. Heffner, 6)Rob Pitcher, 7)Kenny Tremont Jr, 8)Kolby Schroder, 9)Kyle Sheldon, 10)Eddie Marshall, 11)Donnie Corellis, 12)Mike King, 13)Keith Flach, 14)Paul Gilardi, 15)Andy Bachetti, 16)Guy Sheldon, 17)Kyle Hoffman, DNS)Dave McFeeters

Albany Winwater $1,000 to Win Small Block Modified Feature (20 Laps): 1)Frank Hoard III, 2)Olden Dwyer, 3)Wayne Jelley, 4)Jason Herrington, 5)Chad Jeseo,  6)Frank Harper, 7)Brett Haas, 8)Brian Sandstedt, 9)Art Collins, 10)Alan Houghtaling, 11)Ray Hall, 12)Chad Pierce, 13)Jason Tompkins, 14)Mendel Sean, 15)Jim Rajczi, 16)Ryan Darcy, DNS)Kenny Aanonsen JR, DQ)Tyler Dippel

Pro Stock Feature (20 Laps): 1)Chuck Towslee, 2)Rob Yetman, 3)Robbie Speed, 4)Nick Hilt, 5)Jon Routhier, 6)Victor, Hopkins, 7)Daniel Sanchez, 8)Steven LaRochelle, 9)Chad Asenault, 10)Milo Campbell, 11)Hugh Page, 12)Brian Walsh, 13)Tom O’Connor, 14)Paul Engwer, 15)John Santolin, 16)Rick Duzlak, 17)Frank Twing, 18)Tom Harkins, 19)John Denue, 20)Chris Lunn, 21)Lou Ganczar

Purestock Feature 1 (8 Laps): 1)Jason Meltz, 2)Scott Morris, 3)Bill Deek, 4)Tim Thompson, 5)Jesse Murphy, 6)Dan Olds, 7)Michael Sanchez, 8)Aaron Goff 9)Keri Vandenburg, 10)Harold Robitaille, 11)Richard Roger, 12)Martina Martin, 13)Dan Cote, 14)De-De Cross, 15)Brian Vandenburg, 16)Matt Cross

Purestock Feature 2 (8 Laps): 1)David Olds, 2)Jay Casey, 3)Shawn Perez, 4)Joe Cheneil, 5)Richard Stickle, 6)Scott Kilmer, 7)Larry Perez, 8)Phil Wood, 9)Bill Deak Jr, 10)Joe Walcott, 11)Jay Martin, 12)Dennis O’Connor Jr, 13)Wuggie Burdick, 14)Raymond Mandel, 15)Zachery Seyerlein, 16)Dylan Fachini

Purestock Feature (12 Laps): 1)Ed Hatch , 2)Lou Ganczar, 3)Al Relyea, 4)Doug Olds, 5)Jeff Meltz Sr., 6)Gary O’Brien, 7)Clifford Booth, 8)Bob Palmer,  9)Mike Eichstedt, 10)Jeff Meltz, 11)Ray Hall Sr, 12)Jeff Kreutzinger, 13)John Felarecki, 14)Bob Brown, DNS)Chris Streeter

4 Cylinder Single Cam (15 Laps): 1)Victoria Boyles, 2)Ben Britch, 3)Ian Relyea, 4)Jim Williams, 5)Jethro Rossan, 6)Dan Collins, 7)Don Curley, 8)T.J. Marlitt, 9)Brandon Perry, 10)Andrew Bostwick, 11)Steve Burbank, 12)Stephen Cameron JR. 13)Karen Verhagen, 14)Nick Mokhiber, 15)Gary Malloy, 16)Tim Meltz, 17)Nick McClendon, DQ)Brandon Ely

4 Cylinders Dual Cam (15 Laps): 1)Chris Vandeputte, 2)Kenny Stager, 3)Todd Goldstein, 4)Mike Dianda, 5)Rick Hodges, 6)Shuan Stickle, 7)Kelly Duncan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *