Brewerton Speedway: Sterling Miller Wins The Race And Mike Mullen The Championship In The Anchor Bar & Grill Mod Lites

RaceChaser Staff Featured, Northeast 0 Comments

BREWERTON, NY – OCTOBER 10, 2013 (By Dave Medler) – It came down to three drivers Mike Mullen, Rick Demo and Alan Fink to decide the 2013 Brewerton/Fulton Speedway Anchor Bar & Grill Mod Lite Champion. Those three drivers were only separated by seven-points.

Mike Mullen the point leader, jumped right into the lead to start the 20-lap feature as he tried to stay ahead of Demo and Fink, knowing if he did that there would be no question who would be champion.

By lap-5 Rick Demo assumed the lead with Mullen right in his tire tracks. Behind the top-two, Frank Sobotka, Sterling Miller and Sam Usborne showed in the top-five.

At the halfway point, Demo opened a six-car advantage as Mullen kept the leader in sight. Miller, Sobotka, and Usborne still ran third through fifth just before a caution on lap-11.

With 5-laps to go Miller ran down Mullen and Demo using the top of the speedway to be scored the new leader just before another caution. On the restart the other point contender Alan Fink bolted from fourth to second setting up the battle for the title.

Over the remaining laps Miller bolted away to the win. Fink, Mullen, Demo and Usborne chased Miller across the line. When the points were totaled Mullen defended his 2012 tile by three-points in the final standings.

(Anchor Bar & Grill Mod Lites 20-Laps) – STERLING MILLER, Alan Fink, Mike Mullen, Rick Demo, Sam Usborne, Frank Sobotka, Paul Klager, Jim Bogett, Joe Garafolo, Dan Ferguson, Gary Jeffries, Zach Babcock, Nick Graziano, Lowell Zehr, Jeff Blackburn, Ryan Blackburn, Justin Williams, Terry Lapham, Kelly Skinner, Steve Miller, Mike Larose, Dave Brown, Jeff Sykes.

( $50 Hard Charger Gift Card From Pro Race Cars) – Alan Fink

($100 Pro Race Cars Certificate For 8th Place Finishing Car From Dig Safely NY) – Jim Bogett

($50 NAPA Gift Card For 11th Place Finishing Car From Dig Safely NY) – Gary Jeffries

($500 Winners Share Courtesy Of Industrial Tire Of CNY) – Sterling Miller

($100 Hard Luck Award From Power Seal) – Rick Demo

PHOTO CREDIT:  Time Out Photos

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *