AUDIO/RECAP: Preece King of the Bullrings Again; 12th Whelen Modified Victory Comes at Waterford

RaceChaser Staff Asphalt Modifieds, Audio, Featured, Northeast, Touring Series 0 Comments

WATERFORD, Conn. — official series release by Jason Cunningham, NASCAR — Audio courtesy NASCAR Media — Getty Images for NASCAR photo —

Ryan Preece continued his mastery of bullrings on Saturday night.

The 24-year-old Berlin, Connecticut, driver picked up his 12th career NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour victory in the Mr. Rooter 161 at New London-Waterford Speedbowl.

It was Preece’s second win at the Speedbowl and seventh tour win on a track that is a third-mile or smaller. He also has a win on the NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour on the quarter-mile at Bowman Gray Stadium in Winston-Salem, North Carolina.

To get the win, Preece had to hold off defending tour champion Doug Coby in a green-white-checkered finish.

Ted Christopher finished third, followed by Max Zachem and Woody Pitkat.

Bobby Santos, Patrick Emerling, Rowan Pennink, Spencer Davis and Keith Rocco completed the top 10.

The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour will be right back at it Friday, June 5 with the TSI Harley-Davidson 125 at Stafford (Connecticut) Motor Speedway. Pitkat picked up the win the last time the tour visited Stafford on April 26.


Audio with race winner Ryan Preece:

Audio with runner-up Doug Coby:

Audio with third-place Ted Christopher:


RESULTS: NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour; New London-Waterford Speedbowl; Mr. Rooter 161; May 30, 2015

  1. Ryan Preece
  2. Doug Coby
  3. Ted Christopher
  4. Max Zachem
  5. Woody Pitkat
  6. Bobby Santos III
  7. Patrick Emerling
  8. Rowan Pennink
  9. Spencer Davis
  10. Keith Rocco
  11. Eric Goodale
  12. Timmy Solomito
  13. David Sapienza
  14. Derek Ramstrom
  15. Jeff Goodale
  16. Chase Dowling
  17. Dave Salzarulo
  18. Shawn Solomito
  19. Todd Szegedy
  20. Troy Talman
  21. Donny Lia
  22. Brendon Bock
  23. Tom Rogers Jr.
  24. Steve Masse
  25. Justin Bonsignore
  26. Ken Heagy
  27. Jon McKennedy
  28. Johnny Bush
  29. Gary McDonald
  30. Wade Cole
  31. Anthony Nocella
  32. Melissa Fifield
  33. Jamie Tomaino

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.