AUDIO/RECAP: Second to None; D.J. Shullick Avenges 2013 and ‘Ices’ Field to Win King of Wings VI at Oswego

Jacob Seelman Audio, Featured, Northeast, Supermodifieds 0 Comments

OSWEGO, N.Y. — Audio, photo and recap by Managing Editor Jacob Seelman for Speed77 Radio and Race Chaser Online — “A couple of weeks ago, Mike (Lichty) lit my fire. This time he got frozen.”

That confident assertion was the first statement to come from King Dave Shullick Jr. VI when he parked his #95 Jim Bodnar-built ISMA Supermodified in Victory Lane in Saturday night.

After the performance he had just put on, he had every right to speak loudly and proudly.

Shullick, driving a brand-new blue and silver painted Bodnar chassis aptly nicknamed “Ice”, froze the rest of his competition during Saturday’s Shea Concrete “King of Wings VI” 50-lap ISMA Supermodified feature event at the Oswego Speedway. Shullick powered around the inside of six-time ISMA champion Chris Perley on Lap 27 and never looked back, driving away to a near-full straightaway advantage at times and weathering a caution with fifteen laps remaining to claim the king’s cape and crown after finishing second in last year’s King of Wings.

The victory was Shullick’s first King of Wings triumph in his second attempt, his first win of the season and his eighth career International SuperModified Association victory.

“The car was just awesome tonight. I can’t thank Jim Bodnar enough; he builds one heck of a machine. It’s the first time (the car) has ever had a full fuel load in it. We didn’t know what it was going to do. For it to be that good, I was shocked. It’s just awesome to win this race.”

Shullick had to drive from eighth on the grid to get to the front, but his cause was aided by several early yellows. The first caution flew on the opening lap when the 55 and 96 cars of Mike Keeler and Lou LeVea Sr. tangled in turn 4, and the second came on Lap 3 when a five car melee in turn 3 eliminated three-time KoW runner-up Tim Ice, defending champ ‘Liquid’ Lou Cicconi and defending Rookie of the Year Allison Cumens.

On the restart, ‘Shoe Two’ began marching, passing Dan Bowes for fifth on Lap 7 and storming around ISMA point leader¬†Jon McKennedy and Jeff Locke to move into third by the time the field was slowed again with the third caution of the race, this yellow for a second spin by the 55 of Mike Keeler in turn 2.

Once the green returned, both Shullick and defending King Mike Lichty began dicing their ways to the front, with Lichty scooting by Locke for fourth on lap 22 and Shullick making his race-winning pass five laps later, but Lichty was not done gunning for the front of the field. The 2012 series champion grabbed third from Ben Seitz just before the caution came out for the final time on lap 35, when the 97 of Ryan Gath pounded the outside wall in turn 4.

From there, it was all ‘Ice, Ice baby’ as Shullick ran away with the win over the final stretch run. Perley withstood several spirited charges by Lichty to hang onto the runner-up spot, with Locke and Seitz rounding out the top five behind the two former series champions.

Perley said after the race that he just didn’t have enough to hang with Shullick once the 95 got out front.

“The first place car finished first, and the second place car finished second tonight,” Perley quipped. “I just didn’t have enough for Shullick there; he was super fast tonight and he sure earned this win.”

Shullick began his day by setting fast time in time trials, using a blistering lap of 15.031 seconds to claim top qualifying honors over his teammate, six-time Oswego Speedway track champion Otto Sitterly.

Sitterly, who was driving the identically-prepared, red-trimmed Bodnar chassis nicknamed “Fire”, qualified second and had to rally in the feature after being involved in one of the late-race cautions and being sent to the rear. Sitterly finished eighth on the evening and said the night for him was “one big learning curve”.

“The whole day for me was about learning,” Sitterly said in the pits after the race. “This is the first time I’ve ever been in a competitive winged car here. I had a lot of fun tonight and it was a solid result for us.”

Jon McKennedy, Jeff Locke and Rob Summers all won heat races on the evening. Eddie Witkum Jr. won the consolation race and was one of six cars to transfer into the main event after time trialing fourth during the afternoon.

The International SuperModified Association season continues on Friday July 25th with the running of the ISMA Fast Forty, the traditional preliminary event for the 100-lap Hy-Miler Nationals. The 2014 Hy-Miler will take place on Saturday, July 26th.


RESULTS: ISMA Supermodifieds; Shea Concrete King of Wings VI; Oswego Speedway; July 12, 2014

ISMA Supermodified Time Trials: 1. 94 – Dave Shullick Jr: 15.031, 2. 7 – Otto Sitterly: 15.034, 3. 11 – Chris Perley: 15.148, 4. 21 – Ed Witkum Jr.: 15.298, 5. 84 – Mike Lichty: 15.350, 6. 19 – Trent Stephens: 15.381, 7. 17 – Ben Seitz: 15.402, 8. 8 – Moe Lilje: 15.424, 9. 79 – Jon McKennedy: 15.484, 10. 74 – Rob Summers: 15.556, 11. 37 – Jeff Locke: 15.573, 12. 25 – Dan Bowes: 15.588, 13. 70 – Dave McKnight: 15.600, 14. 61 – Lou Cicconi: 15.615, 15. 65 – Tim Ice: 15.678, 16. 39 – Alison Cumens: 15.690, 17. 78 – Mark Sammut: 15.724, 18. 46 – Ryan Coniam: 15.736, 19. 98 – Justin Belfiore: 15.740, 20. 40 – Bob Magner: 15.745, 21. 97 – Ryan Gath: 15.803, 22. 51 – Dave Duggan: 16.084, 23. 28 – Eric Lewis: 16.179, 24. 87 – Keith Gilliam: 16.218, 25. 55 – Mike Keeler: 16.247, 26. 29 – Bobby Chartier: 16.367, 27. 94 – Craig Rayvals: 16.429, 28. 96 – Lou LeVea Sr.: 16.752, 29. 83 – Lou LeVea Jr.: 17.070, 30. 01 – Dan Connors Jr.: N/T, 31. 18 – Howard Page: N/T

ISMA Supermodified ‘King of Wings VI’ (50-laps): 1. 95 – Dave Shullick Jr, 2. 11 – Chris Perley, 3. 84 – Mike Lichty, 4. 37 – Jeff Locke, 5. 17 – Ben Seitz, 6. 79 – Jon McKennedy, 7. 74 – Rob Summers, 8. 7 – Otto Sitterly, 9. 25 – Dan Bowes, 10. 46 – Ryan Coniam, 11. 78 – Mark Sammut, 12. 98 – Justin Belfiore, 13. 21 – Ed Witkum Jr, 14. 94 – Craig Rayvals, 15. 29 -Chartier, 16. 87 – Keith Gilliam, 17. 8 – Moe Lilje, 18. 97 – Ryan Gath, 19. 55 – Mike Keeler, 20. 51 – Dave Duggan, 21. 40 – Bobby Magner, 22. 19 – Trent Stephens, 23. 70 – Dave McKnight, 24. 61 – Lou Cicconi, 25. 39 – Alison Cumens, 26. 65 – Tim Ice, 27. 96 – Lou LeVea Sr

Audio with race winner Dave Shullick Jr.:

Audio with runner-up Chris Perley:

Audio with 3rd-place Mike Lichty:

Audio with 8th-place Otto Sitterly:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *