TTOMS: Pitkat, Masse, Preece and Vigeant Score Tri Track Heat Wins at Lee USA Speedway

Kyle Souza Asphalt Modifieds, Featured, Northeast, Touring Series 0 Comments

LEE, N.H. — Report by Race Chaser Online New England/Modified Correspondent Kyle Souza — Jared Goddell photo —

Qualifying heats at Lee USA Speedway for the North East Race Car Parts Tri Track Open Modified Series were completed on Sunday afternoon in preparation for the “BullRing Bash 100.”

A total of 39 modifieds appeared in the pit area on Sunday morning and were divided up into four heat races, scheduled 12 laps each in distance.

In heat one, Woody Pitkat started on the outside pole of Taunton, Massachusetts native Brandon Dion and took the lead right from the start. A quick caution flag closed the field back up tight, but Pitkat motored past on the outside once again, scoring the win and putting himself on the pole for the main event.

Also qualifying through heat one were Chris Pasteryak, defending NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour champion Doug Coby, Anthony Nocella and Spencer Davis.

During the second heat race, Steve Masse started on the front row and drove away from the field in the first few laps.  A spin by Matt Hirschman early on forced him to the tail and eventually out of a qualified position. Masse hung on over defending NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour champion Andy Suess, Andy Jancowiak, Zane Zenier and Richard Savary.

The third heat race saw current NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour star Ryan Preece drive around Mike Douglas Jr. on the outside lane to the lead on lap seven and never look back. The event went the distance without a caution flag. Joining Preece locking themselves into the main event were Douglas Jr., Todd Annarummo, Kirk Alexander and Josh Cantara.

The fourth and final heat event also saw no caution flags and Kirk Vigeant took full advantage. He drove away from an early challenge by Rowan Pennink, giving himself a fourth place starting spot for the 100-lap main event. Pennink, Jon McKennedy, Todd Szegedy and Dwight Jarvis qualified through the heat event.

Up next, the series will be in action for two “consi” events, with the top two in each qualifying for the main event. A B-main feature will follow.

UNOFFICIAL RESULTS; Heat Races for Tri Track Modifieds at Lee USA Speedway:

Modified Heat One Results (12 laps): 1. Woody Pitkat, 2. Chris Pastreyak, 3. Doug Coby, 4. Anthony Nocella, 5. Spencer Davis, 6. Dave Sapienza, 7. Norman Wrenn III, 8. Brandon Dion, 9. Joe Doucette, 10. Mike Holdridge.

Modified Heat Two Results (12 laps): 1. Steve Masse, 2. Andy Suess, 3. Andy Jancowiak, 4. Zane Zenier  5. Richard Savary, 6. Dennis Perry, 7. Matt Hirschman, 8. Jeff Gallup, 9. Jimmy Dolan.

Modified Heat Three Results (12 laps): 1. Ryan Preece, 2. Mike Douglas Jr., 3. Todd Annarummo, 4. Kirk Alexander, 5. Josh Cantara, 6. Garrison Grubisa, 7. Brendon Bock, 8. Rob Summers, 9. Jon Kievman, 10. Rich Parker.

Modified Heat Four Results (12 laps): 1. Kirk Vigeant, 2. Rowan Pennink, 3. Jon McKennedy, 4. Todd Szegedy, 5. Dwight Jarvis, 6. Carl Mederios Jr., 7. Todd Patnode, 8. Matt Galko, 9. Brian Chapin.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.