AUDIO/FEATURE: Supermodified Top 6 Qualifiers Prepare For Budweiser International Classic 200

Steven Ovens Audio, Featured, Midwest, Northeast, Racing Nation, Supermodifieds 0 Comments

OSWEGO, NY — Story, Audio and Photo by Race Chaser Online New York Correspondent Steven Ovens — The rain has played a role in the running of the Budweiser International Classic 200.  The format for qualifying has changed this morning and will go off as follows:

-Top 28 cars on speed from Friday night are now locked into the field

-There will be no heat races, only the Bud Light B-Main which will be 20 laps in distance

-5 cars will qualify from the Bud Light B-Main

-1 additonal Commitment Program car will also qualify on a provisional basis

This certainly has changed the mindset for 14 additional cars who weren’t initially qualified that are now locked in on their time trial.  It also puts great importance on the Bud Light B-Main as this will be the last shot to qualify for the Classic.

The following 14 drivers are locked into today’s running of the Classic based on their time Friday night:

2014 Budweiser International Classic ‘Fast 14’

99 – Joey Payne (Hawthorne, NJ)         ROW ONE            90 – Kody Graham (Liverpool, NY)

68 – Michael Barnes (Mexico, NY)        ROW TWO           52 – David Danzer (Oswego, NY)

6 – Davey Hamilton (Boise, ID)              ROW THREE       21 – Ray Graham (Ankeny, IA)

47 – Bob Bond (Mexico, NY)                    ROW FOUR          11 – Bobby Santos (Franklin, MA)

37 – Randy Ritskes (Oswego, NY)          ROW FIVE             7 – Otto Sitterly (Canajoharie, NY)

22 – Pat Lavery (Oswego, NY)                  ROW SIX             50 – Dave Gruel (Fulton, NY)

00 – Joe Gosek (Oswego, NY)                  ROW SEVEN      79 – Brian Sobus (Fulton, NY)

Team Xtreme


We had the opportunity to talk with the Top 6 qualified drivers and these were their pre-race comments:

Pole Sitter Joey Payne #99

Outside Pole Sitter Kody Graham #90

Starting 3rd Michael Barnes #68

Starting 4th David Danzer #52

Starting 5th Davey Hamilton #6

Starting 6th Ray Graham #21

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *